Five reasons to be thankful


Right this minute, here and now, I’m not feeling like I have a lot to be thankful for. The reason for this is something I will go into at a later date, when I’m not feeling quite so bitter and raw. But all of that shitty, shitty shit aside, I do have a lot to be thankful for, and that will be the central theme of these Sunday posts.

So without any ado:

#1. My children. One has ASD and the other looks set to eat us out of house and home, but they are the loveliest, sweetest natured children in the world, although admittedly I might be the tiniest bit biased. Sometimes they drive me mad, but I’m always proud of them both.

#2. A well-stocked kitchen. We have all the requisite pots and pans, a freezer stocked full, a slow-cooker, dishwasher, oven, hob, cupboard full of herbs and spices, and on and on. We’re not having to start from scratch building up a pantry with a limited budget. Same with cookbooks. We have a lot of cookbooks.

#3. I know how to cook, and I’ve got a good understanding of basic recipes like soups and stews, and how ingredients go together.

#4. Our recently opened Aldi. It looks like we’re going to be doing a lot of shopping there.

#5. The upcoming holiday we have booked. Desperately needed and desperately looking forward to it. It’s self-catering, which should help us stick to a budget. And it might be the last holiday for a while, so mean to have a thoroughly good time.

So there it is: five reasons to be cheerful.

About allpastmidnight

Hi, I'm Alison, I am a mid-thirties mum to two children, Little Man and Wee Girl. Wee Girl is pre-verbal and has autism, while Little Man is the sort of happy chatty little guy who gets into everything and sings at the top of his lungs — until the moment he makes eye contact with a stranger and he goes silent. I am cynical, sweary, and a bit disorganised, and I blog about parenting, ASD, food and just about anything else I can think of. Feel free to follow me on any of my social media. I can also be contacted by email at allpastmidnight [at] outlook [dot] com.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Five reasons to be thankful

  1. Pingback: Five Reasons to be Cheerful, #3 | All Past Midnight

  2. Pingback: Reasons to be Cheerful #4 | All Past Midnight

  3. Pingback: Reasons to be Cheerful #5 | All Past Midnight

  4. Pingback: Reasons to be Cheerful #6 | All Past Midnight

  5. Pingback: Reasons to be Cheerful #7 | All Past Midnight

Leave a Reply

