Well, it’s been a shitty week…

Four weeks ago I signed up to Weight Watchers. Not for the first time (I suspect like many who sign up to most of these slimming companies). I’ve tried Slimming World too, on and off, but I find Weight Watchers works much better for me. I find Slimming World far too restrictive — yes, you can eat anything in theory, but in practice it only works if you cook in a particular way: low-fat, and that’s not how I choose to cook. I also like the way the online Weight Watchers tracker works and how easy it is to plan your meals for the weeks ahead.

So Weight Watchers it is*, and so far it’s working for me. I’ve lost 7 lbs in three weeks. Except… Have I mentioned this has been a shitty, shitty week? Nope? Oh, wait I have? Okay, yeah, I went off-plan this week. As in, got to Thursday and stopped tracking. Ate chcocolate. Drank beer and wine.

It helped. A little. But it’s also meant that I put weight on. Half a pound on. I’m holding out the hope that it’s just stress-related water retention, as I don’t think I went over the top, but we’ll see. If my weight plummets by more than 2lb this week, that may be the case. But I’m back on track now, and as such drinking a breakfast smoothie of my own invention that is both filling and delicious.

Banana, oat and kiwi breakfast smoothie (serves 1)

1 banana
1 pear1 kiwi fruit
25g oats
1 tbsp chia seeds
100-120 ml whole milk

Whizz up in a good blender. And, er, that’s it. I have also been known to add a tsp of instant coffee granules to this.

About allpastmidnight

Hi, I'm Alison, I am a mid-thirties mum to two children, Little Man and Wee Girl. Wee Girl is pre-verbal and has autism, while Little Man is the sort of happy chatty little guy who gets into everything and sings at the top of his lungs — until the moment he makes eye contact with a stranger and he goes silent. I am cynical, sweary, and a bit disorganised, and I blog about parenting, ASD, food and just about anything else I can think of. Feel free to follow me on any of my social media. I can also be contacted by email at allpastmidnight [at] outlook [dot] com.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

