Playing the Guessing Game

It’s an interesting challenge, having a four year old who doesn’t talk. The lack of speech doesn’t mean that she doesn’t communicate — she is constantly pointing things out that she recognises, expecting me to say what they are.

Sometimes it’s easy. Pictures of swimming pools are a simple spot, as are parks and playgrounds, paint brushes, pencils, cake. All things that she recognises from her everyday life and adores. Especially the cake.

Sometimes it’s much harder:

Wee Girl points at something on the TV. “Urrgh.”

Me: “What is it? What can you see?”

Wee Girl, pointing more insistently: “Uurgh!”

Me: “A doggy? A kitty cat?”

Wee Girl, stabbing her finger at the TV now, getting frustrated: “UUURGH!”

Me: “Cake? Biscuits? Table? A door?”

Wee Girl, rolling around on the floor in frustration at my idiocy: “UUUUUUGHHHHEEEEE!”

Me: “Oh, it was a cup of coffee.”

Wee Girl: claps her hands, and jumps up and down. Finally, Mum.

And I bugger off to the kitchen to put the kettle on.

Did someone mention coffee?

Did someone mention coffee?

About allpastmidnight

Hi, I'm Alison, I am a mid-thirties mum to two children, Little Man and Wee Girl. Wee Girl is pre-verbal and has autism, while Little Man is the sort of happy chatty little guy who gets into everything and sings at the top of his lungs — until the moment he makes eye contact with a stranger and he goes silent. I am cynical, sweary, and a bit disorganised, and I blog about parenting, ASD, food and just about anything else I can think of. Feel free to follow me on any of my social media. I can also be contacted by email at allpastmidnight [at] outlook [dot] com.
This entry was posted in Parenting and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

