Five Reasons to be Cheerful, #3

wee girl kiss

Previous reasons to be cheerful: one, two

#1. We have been extraordinarily lucky that Wee Girl has always been a good sleeper. There is a reason that sleep deprivation is a form of torture, and I know from experience that on the days after a bad night’s sleep I am far more prone to depressive and destructive thoughts.

#2. That the sweltering heat of recent weeks has cooled off a bit, leaving us with perfectly lovely weather, nice and warm, but not too hot. More of this please; this is perfect.

#3. I won a holiday! It’s a Walking holiday in Spain, a bit like a bootcamp. I still have to work out some of the details, but this is exactly the sort of thing I’ve needed for ages.

#4. In the cafe when Little Man drops something on the floor, I can ask Wee Girl to pick it up rather than do it myself. And she will.

#5. And speaking of Wee Girl, she has been showing more and more interest in copying our behaviour. Along with ‘making’ me coffee when the kettle boils (she runs straight into the kitchen to spoon coffee granules into a mug), helping stir the scrambled eggs (petrifying, but worth it, I think, to develop her interest in food), she is now practising putting my make up on. She came down yesterday with the lower half of her face bright pink. I am so, so proud of her. Perhaps I could incorporate ‘make up messy play’ into our routine.

It’s just a shame about my blusher.

About allpastmidnight

Hi, I'm Alison, I am a mid-thirties mum to two children, Little Man and Wee Girl. Wee Girl is pre-verbal and has autism, while Little Man is the sort of happy chatty little guy who gets into everything and sings at the top of his lungs — until the moment he makes eye contact with a stranger and he goes silent. I am cynical, sweary, and a bit disorganised, and I blog about parenting, ASD, food and just about anything else I can think of. Feel free to follow me on any of my social media. I can also be contacted by email at allpastmidnight [at] outlook [dot] com.
This entry was posted in Autism, Parenting, Positive thinking. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Five Reasons to be Cheerful, #3

  1. Pingback: Reasons to be Cheerful #4 | All Past Midnight

  2. Yay for the holiday – are you going on your own or with someone else?
    #SSAmazingAchievements
    x Alice

  3. ourlittleescapades says:

    WOW to winning the holiday, that’s amazing. Copying is a fantastic step for Wee Girl it shows she is taking notice and wants to be involved. Also having her help to pick up items is a massive bonus.

    Thanks for linking up with Small Steps Amazing Achievements :0)
    x

    • Yeah, I’m pretty excited. Just waiting for them to get back to me so I can get it all booked. And it’s definitely handy not having to get up every time the baby drops something.

  4. Pingback: Reasons to be Cheerful #5 | All Past Midnight

  5. Pingback: Reasons to be Cheerful #6 | All Past Midnight

  6. Pingback: Reasons to be Cheerful #7 | All Past Midnight

Leave a Reply

