Book Review: The Blood Dimmed Tide, by Anthony Quinn

blood dimmed tide

In 1918, a coffin bearing the inscription ‘Body unknown, Died at sea, 1889′ is pulled from the sea off the coast of Ireland. When the coffin is opened up, the corpse within is that of a pretty young woman, known to the men who have found the coffin. Meanwhile, in London W. B. Yeats, Irish poet and occultist, has received a letter from the woman, exhorting him to return to Ireland to investigate her death.

So begins The Blood Dimmed Tide, with an intriguing set up for a mystery. It’s a heady mix that’s pretty much guaranteed to suck me in: a murder mystery, supernatural goings on and a historical setting. So far, so promising, right?

Well, no.

I found it tough going to get into, although I can’t quite put my finger on why. Something about the way it is written, the slightly stilted Victorian pastiche, just didn’t appeal to me. I found W. B. Yeats’ character deeply irritating, and as for the mystery itself… Wel, let’s just say that Occam’s Razor applies here and leave it at that. There’s also far too much pointless faffing about on beaches and tedious blather about ocultism for my liking.

There are some good points. For a start, I finished it, which is saying something – I’m much less patient than I used to be. The suplot involving Yeats’ wife Georgie and her newly acquired skill at automatic writing I found amusing, and despite my difficulties engaging in the writing, I don’t think it’s the fault of the author. It’s well written, but just didn’t click with me.

I should also add that the book might appeal more to someone who isn’t as wholly ignorant of the life of W. B. Yeats and the history of Ireland as me, but overall, I found this deeply disappointing after the opening and the blurb on the back that hooked me in.

MamaMummyMum

About allpastmidnight

Hi, I'm Alison, I am a mid-thirties mum to two children, Little Man and Wee Girl. Wee Girl is pre-verbal and has autism, while Little Man is the sort of happy chatty little guy who gets into everything and sings at the top of his lungs — until the moment he makes eye contact with a stranger and he goes silent. I am cynical, sweary, and a bit disorganised, and I blog about parenting, ASD, food and just about anything else I can think of. Feel free to follow me on any of my social media. I can also be contacted by email at allpastmidnight [at] outlook [dot] com.
This entry was posted in Book Reviews and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Book Review: The Blood Dimmed Tide, by Anthony Quinn

  1. it’s hard when you don’t quite “feel” what’s written isn’t it, refreshing to see such an honest review though!! thanks for sharing with #readwithme x

Leave a Reply

