Reasons to be Cheerful #4

Previous reasons to be cheerful, 1|2|3

Finding five reasons to be cheerful has been a tough one this week, with everybody in the family being not at their best for one reason or another. I’ve been struggling with the feeling that keeping the house tidy is a bit like pushing water uphill with a sieve. The kids have both been fractious and bad tempered, and Paul has developed an abscess in his tooth and will need to go for root canal surgery. So yeah, not the best week.

In fact, I’ll let Little Man summarise my feelings about the week in a single image:

Yup. Not good. In fact I think I made EXACTLY that face a couple of times

But that is exactly the purpose of these posts, to pick me up when I’m feeling down, and to remind me that it’s really, really not all that bad.

#1. One of my earlier posts this week, On Heartbreak, touches on the terrible things that can and do happen, and it reminds me how lucky I am that I have my family and that we are all healthy and, grumps aside, happy.

#2. I’ve just been accepted onto another Tesco Orchard program, and for something that I’m excited to try. I love getting free stuff.

#3. It’s very nearly the weekend and soon this week will be over. I have to make sure I carve out some time for myself, because I’ve been feeling the lack of it lately.

#4. Even though I haven’t been following a diet lately, my weight has been stable, and if anything has been creeping veeerrry slowly downwards. That’s something to be happy about, right?

#5. I’m hoping to take the kids to the beach next week if the weather holds out. I love the beach, and while we’ve had the occasional trip to the seaside, we haven’t been properly swimming in the sea for ages. Little Man never has, so that will be an awful lot of fun.

Powered by Linky Tools

Click here to enter your link and view this Linky Tools list…

About allpastmidnight

Hi, I'm Alison, I am a mid-thirties mum to two children, Little Man and Wee Girl. Wee Girl is pre-verbal and has autism, while Little Man is the sort of happy chatty little guy who gets into everything and sings at the top of his lungs — until the moment he makes eye contact with a stranger and he goes silent. I am cynical, sweary, and a bit disorganised, and I blog about parenting, ASD, food and just about anything else I can think of. Feel free to follow me on any of my social media. I can also be contacted by email at allpastmidnight [at] outlook [dot] com.
This entry was posted in Positive thinking and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Reasons to be Cheerful #4

  1. ojosworld says:

    Oh bless, that’s not a happy face, is it? I’m glad you found reasons to smile, when it feels like this. I also hope the weather holds out, for your beach trip x

  2. Enjoy the beach and the weekend and yaay for the weight loss too x

  3. Kate Holmes says:

    Do look after yourself – that enables you to look after other people. I always find reasons to be cheerful is most powerful on the more challenging weeks. Hoping the trip to the sea restores you

    • Exactly, that’s what I figured. It’s been a tough week, today especially. Hopefully things will be back to normal by next week and we’ll all be happy again. Fingers crossed anyway. Thanks for visiting

  4. Hope the weather holds out for you and well done on the weight loss, the little amounts lost soon add up!

  5. Pingback: Reasons to be Cheerful #6 | All Past Midnight

  6. Pingback: Reasons to be Cheerful #7 | All Past Midnight

Leave a Reply

