Book Review: Hunted, by Carla Norton

Hunted Carla Norton

I received a free copy of this book through Goodreads’ First Reads program.

Psychopath Daryl Wayne Flint abducted Reeve LeClaire as a child and held her prisoner in his basement for four years before an act of sheer luck resulted in her escape. But while she has been rebuilding her life he has been plotting to escape from the psychiatric hospital where he has been incarcerated. When he finally succeeds, Reeve realises that she has an insight into his behaviour, and she teams up with the retired FBI agent who investigated the case to make sure he’s captured again.

This book dealt fairly well with an uncomfortable subject. It only hints at a sexual motive behind the abduction, making more of Flint’s obsession with Reeve’s skin and the scarification of her back. This was a relief: I’m growing weary of the overuse of sexual violence directed towards women in crime fiction.

I didn’t realise this was actually a sequel to a book called The Edge of Normal until after I’d finished it, but although that clarified a few niggles (the way characters are mentioned but never really play a role in the story, such as Reeve’s psychiatrist), it also raised the question of why the events in The Edge of Normal are not mentioned here (if they were, I didn’t notice, but then I’m not terribly observant).

Hunted is not amazing literature by any means, but it is fast paced, and held my interest with short chapters driving the action on. It also felt like Carla Norton knows her stuff, although I’m not sure it always rang true; the FBI seemed very willing to let Reeve help out, and the thread about Cybil Abbot fizzled out into nothingness, making me wonder why it was there at all.

On the whole, I enjoyed it. Although I’m not sure I would go out of my way to seek out more by the author, I might pick up the first book or subsequent sequels if I stumbled across them.

MamaMummyMum

About allpastmidnight

Hi, I'm Alison, I am a mid-thirties mum to two children, Little Man and Wee Girl. Wee Girl is pre-verbal and has autism, while Little Man is the sort of happy chatty little guy who gets into everything and sings at the top of his lungs — until the moment he makes eye contact with a stranger and he goes silent. I am cynical, sweary, and a bit disorganised, and I blog about parenting, ASD, food and just about anything else I can think of. Feel free to follow me on any of my social media. I can also be contacted by email at allpastmidnight [at] outlook [dot] com.
This entry was posted in Book Reviews and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Book Review: Hunted, by Carla Norton

  1. I’ve not heard of that Good Reads program, what a great way to get reading more books!! Perhaps you would have enjoyed the book more if you’d read the previous book first, great review . thanks for sharing with #readwithme x

  2. Pingback: How to Get ‘Free’ Stuff for Your New Blog Without Brand Contacts | All Past Midnight

Leave a Reply

