Meal Plan 19/07/15 – 25/07/15

Chicken Paella

Chicken Paella

It’s been a bit like a game of chicken in this house. If I’m not quick enough getting the meal plan sorted, my husband will do it, and that leaves me feeling discombobulated. It’s not that he’s bad at it – he generally picks nice enough recipes – but I miss the feeling of control I get when I pick what we’re going to eat.

The past week has gone well. The Herb Roast chicken was a massive success (and the recipe is here if you fancy a simple roast dinner).

I shredded the chicken off the bone, used the carcass to make stock for the tortellini in broth (a cheapo pack of tortellini from Aldi plus the leftover braised lettuce and greens from Sunday), and half the leftover chicken meat with a pack of Maggi So Stir Fry noodles (review to come). The other half of the leftovers have been squirrelled away in the freezer for another day.

And I have finally managed to get around to the chicken paella (no prawns though) — that’s for dinner tonight.

So here’s the upcoming week:

Sunday: Beef hot pot with mustardy dumplings and mash

Monday: Chicken paella (Finally!)

Tuesday: Leftover beef hot pot

Wednesday: Frittata with salad

Thursday: Sausage, peas and mash with onion gravy

Friday: Not sure yet, probably leftovers or soup

Saturday: Spicy devilled pork ribs with noodles and veg

About allpastmidnight

Hi, I'm Alison, I am a mid-thirties mum to two children, Little Man and Wee Girl. Wee Girl is pre-verbal and has autism, while Little Man is the sort of happy chatty little guy who gets into everything and sings at the top of his lungs ā€” until the moment he makes eye contact with a stranger and he goes silent. I am cynical, sweary, and a bit disorganised, and I blog about parenting, ASD, food and just about anything else I can think of. Feel free to follow me on any of my social media. I can also be contacted by email at allpastmidnight [at] outlook [dot] com.
This entry was posted in Meal planning and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Meal Plan 19/07/15 – 25/07/15

  1. Anne's Kitchen says:

    I always think leftovers make great building blocks for in the week meals! Plus I love you used ‘discombobulated’ its not often used enough! Sounds so grand! šŸ™‚

  2. Alice W says:

    Woohoo, hope the paella went well! I still want to try that one. Also love the word ‘discombobulated’, amazing :p hope your week’s going alright and the little ones are getting better (just saw your reasons to be cheerful post) xx

Leave a Reply

