The (Dare)Devil Child

image

Giant slide? Wheee

Wee Girl has always been a climber, but that’s only the beginning of the story. She climbs, she swings, she flips upside down. She does whatever she can do to keep her body in motion at all times. At the park she will head, instinctively, for the highest piece of equipment there. The one that I am secretly, desperately, praying that she won’t notice. Because if she does it will inevitably mean that I am forced to hover beneath her, holding my arms up so that I can catch her if she falls.

That’s what a parent is meant to do, right?

Sometimes terror gets the best of me. Sometimes it’s easier to pack up and go home, or to tempt her with a mention of the cafe, something which is usually guaranteed to result in a u-turn straight for the doors of said establishment.

But every time I do that, I’m failing her.

I made a decision early on to let her try. To stifle the voice that wants to screech ‘Watch out! Don’t go so high! You might fall!’ I remember reading an article early on about how parents are subconsciously less likely to let their daughters take risks.

Not me, I thought. Not my daughter.

It’s not always easy.

Once she shot up a climbing frame and along the top of the monkey bars three feet above my head: I had Little Man strapped to my chest, so I knew I couldn’t catch her if she fell. I had to appeal to the group of shirtless young men who were blasting out music and using the playground as their gym (Not complaining. They were 1. very helpful, and 2. lovely to look at).

“She’s fearless,” one of them said.

You have no idea.

Fearless she might be, but she’s also cautious and careful. She takes her time, thinks about what she’s doing, and as a result she rarely falls. And she’s strong, so if she does fall, she’s usually able to catch herself and pull herself back up again. So I’m trying to be braver, because I never ever want to be the one holding her back.

She deserves better that that. She’s tough and gutsy and I’m incredibly proud of her.

Even if she does sometimes scare the crap out of me.

image

Best of Worst

Brilliant blog posts on HonestMum.com

Super Busy Mum
About allpastmidnight

Hi, I'm Alison, I am a mid-thirties mum to two children, Little Man and Wee Girl. Wee Girl is pre-verbal and has autism, while Little Man is the sort of happy chatty little guy who gets into everything and sings at the top of his lungs — until the moment he makes eye contact with a stranger and he goes silent. I am cynical, sweary, and a bit disorganised, and I blog about parenting, ASD, food and just about anything else I can think of. Feel free to follow me on any of my social media. I can also be contacted by email at allpastmidnight [at] outlook [dot] com.
This entry was posted in Parenting and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to The (Dare)Devil Child

  1. What a great post. Your wee girl reminds me of my wee boy 🙂 He is also fearless and he also scares the crap out of me. His father is much better at letting go of those apron strings than me.
    #bestandworst

    • Heh, sometimes it’s tough. The trouble is there’s no way of knowing if she’d actually take a run in leap off something. Chances are she wouldn’t but HOW DO I KNOW?

  2. Great post. I think its fab that your girl is fearless, although I’m sure it makes for a lot of heart in mouth situations for you lol #bestandworst
    Debbie
    http://www.myrandommusings.blogspot.com

  3. Honest Mum says:

    Sounds like my little one, really lives life to the full! Thanks for linking up to #brilliantblogposts, can you add my badge or link back, thanks x

  4. What a lovely handful to have a daughter like that! Enjoy while you bite your nails from the nerves, she will make life interesting always. #bestandworst

  5. Pingback: Encouraging Engagement – Five Silly Games I play with my child with ASD | All Past Midnight

  6. Helen Gandy says:

    This is the same as my son, he knows no fear it scares the hell out of me at times. He wants to climb as high as he can and will jump into a swimming pool with no hesitation whatsoever! Thanks for linking up to the #bestandworst and hope to see you again next week 🙂 x

  7. My son is fearless too and it seems the younger one, 1 year old is like his brother. Maybe because she’s a girl as you say, you are perhaps less prepared to see her do that but hey there are no differences there. Thanks for visiting my blog, I have been meaning to comment for a while but didn’t manage to find much time. Now it’s done. Laura x

Leave a Reply

