Reasons to be Cheerful #5

Another week and I’m not feeling particularly thankful or cheerful.

This is a house of lurgy today; just scrawl a red cross on our door and have done with it. Wee Girl was sick in the night, and this morning has been a whirl of soaking bedclothes, tidying up and catching up with linky blog-visits.

Wee Girl has been asleep for half the morning, spent the other half the morning snuggled up next to me on the sofa, watching CBeebies, and has finally gone back to bed to sleep for a bit more. It’s always a bad sign when she doesn’t want breakfast.

So it’s been another bit of a struggle this week, but I’ve still managed to find another five things which I’m truly grateful for and which make me just the slightest bit more cheerful.

#1. My spelling and grammar is fairly good. It’s not perfect: I make typos like everyone else, but on the whole I understand the basic rules.

#2. It’s been a long time since our last bout of proper sickness (except for colds, although now that I think about it, we haven’t had many of those either), so we’ve been lucky.

#3. I’ve been blogging more or less regularly for a month.

#4. CBeebies. Thank fuck for CBeebies.

#5. And finally, I have a new camera. It’s my first DSLR, a Nikon D3200, which is said to be excellent for beginners. I’m always excited about learning new things, and I’m hoping that the photos on this blog will slowly, gradually start to improve. Particularly my food photos.I can’t wait to get the basics mastered and start having a play around. Watch this space.

Nikon D3200 DSLR camera

My new camera – shiny

What’s cheering you up today?

Previous reasons to be cheerful, 1|2|3|4

Powered by Linky Tools

Click here to enter your link and view this Linky Tools list…

Mamaduckquacks
About allpastmidnight

Hi, I'm Alison, I am a mid-thirties mum to two children, Little Man and Wee Girl. Wee Girl is pre-verbal and has autism, while Little Man is the sort of happy chatty little guy who gets into everything and sings at the top of his lungs — until the moment he makes eye contact with a stranger and he goes silent. I am cynical, sweary, and a bit disorganised, and I blog about parenting, ASD, food and just about anything else I can think of. Feel free to follow me on any of my social media. I can also be contacted by email at allpastmidnight [at] outlook [dot] com.
This entry was posted in Positive thinking and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Reasons to be Cheerful #5

  1. brilliant reasons, especially as you’ve had the lurgy at your door x #R2BC

  2. That’s a great camera! My nonhusband loves his. I never get it out to use but I really should. #HappyQuacks

  3. It’s no fun having the lurgy in the house during the summer when you want to be out, so very glad you found some reasons to be cheerful. Best of luck with the camera, I still haven’t invested, even though I love taking photos, so I’ll be interested in how you get on x

  4. Michelle Twin Mum says:

    Well done on finding some reasons even when you did not feel like it. I hope eveyone is feeling really well soon and enjoying learning your new camera. Mich x

  5. Love the camera…hope you take lots of great pics with it and continue to regularly blog! #happyquaks

  6. ojosworld says:

    I swear it’s compulsory for, at least, some of the house to get the lurgy as school finishes! It was me and the eldest here. That camera is AWESOME, I can’t justify one like that, as I don’t take enough pictures, and the ones I do take are not that good! x

    • I think I’m working on the assumption that buying a DSLR will somehow magically make me better at taking photos. And it might but I really need to get out of the house and find something to take photos of. And ugh to the lurgy. Trying to stay positive but the little man’s got it now

  7. natasham says:

    I think it’s important to be able to find things that make you cheerful even when you’re having a tough week so good on you. I bought a dslr just before I had S (my muse). Unfortunately I haven’t used it as much as I should have. I hope you enjoy it. Thanks for linking up to #happyquacks x

    • It seems like a steep learning curve, but I think once you start learning how it works it all becomes clear. I’m finding that thinking of positive things is making me happier, so it definitely helps. Thanks for visiting.

      • natasham says:

        I agree, I used to keep a gratitude journal. The first few days you got to think of things you felt grateful for. After that it came so easily, I’d think about them all day x

  8. Pingback: Reasons to be Cheerful #6 | All Past Midnight

  9. Pingback: #HappyQuacks Linky Wk7 |

  10. Dan says:

    Love your camera and hallelujah for blogging more. Last week was so taxing and I felt like the world was against me. This week loads of strangers and friends reached and cheered me 🙂 so I am grateful. #happyquacks

  11. Pingback: Reasons to be Cheerful #7 | All Past Midnight

Leave a Reply

