The Liebster Award

Liebster Award
Thanks to 4under4madness for my nomination. The Liebster Award is a fun little set of questions designed to help people get to know bloggers a bit better.

So without any further ado, here are the questions that I’ve been set:

1. What’s your blog all about?
A little bit of everything, from my thoughts on parenting, to reviews, to recipes. I focus on my children, particularly my daughter who is currently pre-verbal and was diagnosed with autism when she was three and a half. We’re now a year on, and she will be starting school in September, so I think I’m going to have a lot to blog about.

2. If you could interview one famous person for your blog, who would it be?
Probably a spokesperson for autism such as Temple Grandin. Someone who could give me a real insight into my daughter’s abilities and her potential.

3. What’s your greatest achievement?
Would it be too sick-making to say my children? They are, hands down, the thing in mylife that I am proudest off. It’s also early days but I’m very excited about this blog. I’ve started blogs before (about sewing and writing), but none of them have stuck. This one seems to, possibly because I am now a SAHM, and it is a fantastic opportunity to be creative which doesn’t involve the same grinding slog of heartache and toil as writing fiction.

4. How do you spend your weekends?
Chilling with my family, although I do try to find some time to myself. I’m an introvert, and after a while get very twitchy when I’ve spent too much time around other people without a break. On Sundays we take the kids swimming, which they both love. For Wee Girl it’s a chance to exercise and improve her motor-planning and balance, as well as indulge her sensory-seeking side: her new favourite thing is plunging underwater.

We also cook, and try to have a special meal every Sunday. Eating as a family is very important to me. It may not always be a roast dinner with all the trimmings, but we always try to make it special. And pudding. There has to be pudding.

5. What’s your favourite day of the week and why?
Saturday, because there’s still a full day of the weekend left, so you can kid yourself that the weekly slog seems like ages away. It also gives me plenty of time to catch up with all the stuff I was meant to do during the week but never got the chance to.

6. Where’s your ultimate holiday destination?
Somewhere with beautiful beaches, fantastic food and scenery, with plenty of places to walk and explore. Kid-friendly would be nice too. Italy, or Thailand? But I’ve heard Eastbourne is quite nice at this time of year.

7. Who would be your 3 perfect dinner party guests?
My husband, my daughter and my son.

8. What’s your favourite song and why?
Anything by the Pogues. It’s the Irish in me. I love to sing along.

9. If you could have any superpower what would it be?
The ability to move at superspeed would be enormously helpful in getting stuff done.

10. Where do you see yourself in 5 years?
Working for mysef from home. I would love to take my blog at least semi-pro, and I want to have improved my writing and blogging skills. I also want to start writing fiction again, but I’ve been out of that game for over a year now so my skills are rusty.

11. Why did you start blogging?
I wanted a creative outlet. I used to write, and for a while when my daughter was still having a good nap during the day I managed to churn out a lot of short stories, but this was short-lived. Blogging offers instant publication and feedback through comments, the editing process is so much quicker, and it provides an emotional release: something which I have found invaluable. Perhaps I can also offer some help to other parents who are going through the process with their children. Wee Girl’s diagnosis was an incredibly difficult time for me, but I have come through it and I can see now that it wasn’t as devastating as it felt at the time. Her autism is a challenge, but it doesn’t change who she is. It is a part of who she is.


I nominate:

Something Crunchy Mummy
Unhinged Mummy
lookingforbluesky
Mama, You Talk?

Here are the rules for those taking part.

1. Acknowledge and thank the person that nominated you.
2. Use an award image to add to the post.
3. Answer 11 questions given to you
4. Nominate up to 11 blogs
5. Don’t forget to let them know!
6. Give them 11 questions to answer.

My questions for you are:

1. What’s your blog all about?
2. If you could interview one famous person for your blog, who would it be?
3. Is there a a specific turning point in your life where you could have found yourself living an entirely different life?
4. What’s your favourite way to spend a day out?
5. What’s your favourite time of year and why?
6. If you had to spend a year living abroad, which country would you choose and why?
7. If you could be an expert in any hobby, which would you choose?
8. What’s your favourite book and why?
9. If you could have any superpower what would it be?
10. Where do you see yourself in 5 years?
11. Why did you start blogging?

About allpastmidnight

Hi, I'm Alison, I am a mid-thirties mum to two children, Little Man and Wee Girl. Wee Girl is pre-verbal and has autism, while Little Man is the sort of happy chatty little guy who gets into everything and sings at the top of his lungs — until the moment he makes eye contact with a stranger and he goes silent. I am cynical, sweary, and a bit disorganised, and I blog about parenting, ASD, food and just about anything else I can think of. Feel free to follow me on any of my social media. I can also be contacted by email at allpastmidnight [at] outlook [dot] com.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Liebster Award

  1. Good luck with developing your blog and absolutely thrilled to discover another Pogues fan! Also thank you for tagging me x

Leave a Reply

