Reasons to be Cheerful #6

Previous reasons to be cheerful, 1|2|3|4|5

Yet another iffy week unfortunately, with the sprogs and Paul coming down with a short-lived vomiting bug, followed by general badtemperedness, all of which has combined to make this a challenging week.

Today has been happy, if not quite stress-free. A trip to Sainsburys to pick up a handful of items was interesting, as one of the items was a kitkat and I made the mistake of using the self-service tills. With Wee Girl in tow. After the third instance of ‘Item removed from bagging area’ I was starting to get the teeniest bit flustered.

I’ve been feeling bothered for a while about how few toys they seem to have. They have lots of things, but nothing they can really play with, so I picked up  a Happyland castle for them to play with.

Happyland castle

So. Much. Pink.

So far, Wee Girl loves it and has been playing happily, opening and closing the doors and pushing the little people through. I think it’s a little expensive for what it is, but she does seem to really like it. I also bought a Happyland playmat which converts into a storage box to give them something to push cars around on.


Reasons to be Cheerful

1. So far there hasn’t been much sign of the Winge-monster today.

2. The new series of The Great British Bake Off starts soon. Only… Is it really almost a year since that Baked Alaska went in the bin? Surely not.

3. I have just learned that Hever Castle is fairly easy for us to get to AND they have an adventure playground, making it a perfect day out. Speaking of days out, I still fully intend to have that trip to the seaside that I talked about a week or so back. So far unclement weather and illness have put the kybosh on it. Maybe next week?

4.  I currently have the next few days of posts planned out. I was worried about running out of things to blog about, but I’m finding that the more I blog, the more the ideas well fills up. It’s a lot like fiction-writing in that way. Or breast-feeding.

5. This is a big one, and I do mean BIG. I have been feeling recently that Wee Girl is on her way to talking, and that in fact she’s already started saying individual words, but we’re just not aware of it because of her (suspected) verbal dyspraxia. We popped into the Early Learning Centre at the weekend and found a… well, there’s no way to put it except ‘giant pink unicorn’. It had massive eyes and she was pointing to these and going ‘Ayyy’. Or was she in fact trying to say ‘eye?’ This is very, very exciting, and bodes well for the future.

What’s making you happy today?

Super Busy Mum
“Our
Mamaduckquacks
About allpastmidnight

Hi, I'm Alison, I am a mid-thirties mum to two children, Little Man and Wee Girl. Wee Girl is pre-verbal and has autism, while Little Man is the sort of happy chatty little guy who gets into everything and sings at the top of his lungs — until the moment he makes eye contact with a stranger and he goes silent. I am cynical, sweary, and a bit disorganised, and I blog about parenting, ASD, food and just about anything else I can think of. Feel free to follow me on any of my social media. I can also be contacted by email at allpastmidnight [at] outlook [dot] com.
This entry was posted in Positive thinking and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Reasons to be Cheerful #6

  1. Anne's Kitchen says:

    Oh how I loathe self checkouts unless I have one item that doesn’t need verifying or my own bag! I also often end up shouting at them saying wait I am trying to get my bloody nectar card out of my purse! And breathe! :0

    • Ha ha, I don’t find the ones in Sainsburys too bad normally; it’s the ones in Tesco that drive me beserk. But trying to et everything scanned while holding back a freakishly strong toddler from the chocolate is not an experience to be repeated.

      • Anne's Kitchen says:

        I only have a 34 year old giant toddler, that can be a handful too keeping him away from the treats!! 😉

  2. NewMummyBlog says:

    Happy Wednesday! Those silly checkouts are so annoying, especially when juggling baby too. That sickness bug was yucky, we had it here too and it was not nice, hope you’re all over it x
    #MMWBH

  3. Ah it’s not good that your family have been unwell. I know what you mean about those self service checkouts, I always come away from them feeling quite infuriated! Also, how can it have been a year since bakeoff?!?

    • I know. Seriously, that bloody Baked Alaska feels like it only went into the bin a few months ago. Luckily, it looks like everyone is more or less back to full health now, thank goodness.

  4. we have had SO many experiences with those self-checkouts – they surely need to find a way to allow for kids by now I reckon. My son managed to scan a soft toy we hadn’t even bought from Sainsburys and then we had to explain that it was already his and not one we were wanting to buy. Hever castle is lovely – hope you make it there over the summer. popping by from #SSAA

    • Ouch, I bet that was awkward about the soft toy. Those checkouts are such a pain. I’d much rather queue up for a proper checkout, but sometimes the queues are just so ridiculously long.

  5. These few days weather doesn’t make me cheerful at all. But with kids around makes a big difference in my mood, their silliness lifts my spirit a bit! Great post! Thanks for sharing!

  6. karenblower says:

    I hate self service check outs! and I’m looking forward to the Bake Off too!

  7. I feel like self check outs are put there to annoy people, I refuse to use them! Loving your happy list, brilliant that your little girl’s speech is coming along 🙂 #happyquacks
    Debbie
    http://www.myrandommusings.blogspot.com

  8. Lots of reasons to smile – that castle is amazing, Boo would love it!
    I hate selfcheckout tills too and the fact they come over swipe the store log in and don’t even check for these rogue items shows you how often they get this error!!

  9. natasham says:

    S has finally realised that you cannot take the chocolate off the bagging area until mama has paid for it! It’s making self check out a tad easier. Congratulations on words coming through, that’s fab!
    Do you sit down and write all your posts at once? I feel like through the day I have potential posts running through my mind but when I actually sit down to write them, I get writers block! Think I need to start recording them as soon as they pop into my head! Thanks for linking up to #happyquacks x

    • Usually one post at a time, but if I do have an idea for a post I might quickly open a new draft, pop in the title and any notes or phrases I have floating around in my head,

      I also keep a blogging notebook where I sometimes write first drafts of posts (and recipes always, not that I’ve done many of them yet).

      The trick with getting started is just to begin. I used to write a lot of fiction, and one good way to start is by writing any old rubbish. It doesn’t matter if it’s poorly worded; that can always be corrected later during the editing process.

      But keeping somewhere where you can scribble down any ideas is an excellent idea.

      Hmm, this is a lenghty comment. Maybe I should write a blog post about this…

      • natasham says:

        You should def. write a blog post about it 🙂 Thanks for the tips…I’ll sit down today and offload all my thoughts. I do have a few drafts floating around..maybe it’s time to revisit them! x

  10. ourlittleescapades says:

    Is it terrible that I love that happyland castle! I’m so looking forward to getting Little E something like this for Christmas. Sounds like a very positive step forward with the words. We had go only for such a long time, we are now very slowly getting more. I really want to go to Hever Castle, its on the list x

  11. Pingback: Reasons to be Cheerful #7 | All Past Midnight

Leave a Reply

