Fear of Missing Out: The Summer Files

In case you hadn’t noticed, today is the 31th of July. Tomorrow it’ll be August, and when August is gone (and I have no doubt that it will speed by) it will be September and Wee Girl will have started school.

pebbles on the beach

Image courtesy of Simon Howden at FreeDigitalPhotos.net

It’s the end of an era.

It will also be the end of Summer. Nothing to do then but freewheel on through Autumn and towards Christmas and the biting cold of early Spring, and I will be left wondering, like I am every year, where the bloody hell did Summer go?

When it’s cold outside and you’re cuddled up on the sofa watching rain streak the windows, it’s easy to fantasize about the coming Summer, the trips to the beach every other weekend, barbeques, picnics with hand-raised pork pies, waterfights. Three months packed with fun and frolics, homemade icelollys, vast platters of salads eaten alfresco in the garden. Tapas! Chargrilled squid! Pimms!

Living life, in short, like a Pinterest feed.

But in reality, what inevitably happens is life. The vagarities of the British weather make planning a trip to the seaside fraught. Its cheaper to book in advance, but you never really know what the weather will be like, and if you’re going to the beach, you want to be able to swim, not spend the time shivering on a wind-battered walk on the promenade, eating icecream in the rain and dodging badtempered seagulls.

barbeque meat peppers summer

Image courtesy of artur84 at FreeDigitalPhotos.net

And as for barbeques… It’s enough hassle with inviting people, setting a day, planning what to cook, getting the house tidy and getting the barbeque set up and lit, and then actually cooking the meat, without all the added pressure of making sure you don’t inadvertantly poison all your guests. Just when was the last time that barbeque was actually cleaned? The last time it was used, of course. A year ago. Then there’s the issue of getting the drunken sods to leave. Don’t they have homes to go to?

They do, of course. But your home has free booze.

Picnics inevitably mean spending an absolute fortune on olives, sunblush tomatoes and hummous, as well as food that the children will actually eat like chicken drumsticks and breadsticks. But it doesn’t really matter what I buy, because Wee Girl will take one look and charge off to the playground without taking so much as a bite. And wasps.

wasp summer picnic

Image courtesy of Vitolef at FreeDigitalPhotos.net

You just know there’ll be fucking wasps. Whatever patronising bastard said all you have to do is stand still and they’ll go away, he was talking out on an orifice other than his mouth. It never works.

Why do we do it to ourselves? Summer has its moments but the reality is that it’s usually either too hot or not hot enough. It makes us sweat and burn and wilt like fragile plants. It forces me to wear the same maxi summer dress repeatedly because it’s the only one that covers the legs I do not have time to shave and I can’t find any others that I like.

And even so, despite all the sweat and stress and sweltering heat, when Summer’s gone I’ll miss it and start looking forward to the next one. Wee Girl will have her first proper school Summer holidays. We’ll really have fun then.

In the meantime though, is anyone else starting to get excited about Christmas?

Brilliant blog posts on HonestMum.com

Life with Baby Kicks
Binky Linky
The Dad Network
About allpastmidnight

Hi, I'm Alison, I am a mid-thirties mum to two children, Little Man and Wee Girl. Wee Girl is pre-verbal and has autism, while Little Man is the sort of happy chatty little guy who gets into everything and sings at the top of his lungs — until the moment he makes eye contact with a stranger and he goes silent. I am cynical, sweary, and a bit disorganised, and I blog about parenting, ASD, food and just about anything else I can think of. Feel free to follow me on any of my social media. I can also be contacted by email at allpastmidnight [at] outlook [dot] com.
This entry was posted in Rants and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Fear of Missing Out: The Summer Files

  1. karenblower says:

    Hahahahahahahaha! Love it! all of it so very true.
    I have two Xmas presents already thank you..

  2. In spite of all the reasons listed here, which I completely agree with (especially wasps!) I still love summer 🙂 I refuse to even think about Christmas yet lol! #effitfriday
    Debbie
    http://www.myrandommusings.blogspot.com

  3. Stressed Mum says:

    All very true, every year you dream of the idilic summer and every year that goes out the window. I can not think about christmas yet, although I do have 2 small presents, as it is my daughters birthday in November x

  4. So true and weirdly I’m already thinking of Christmas and have started a wishlist of what I’ll be buying my girls! Thanks for linking up to the #BinkyLinky

  5. Nige Higgins says:

    Very funny and completely true great post thanks for linking to the Binkylinky

  6. Haha i love this! I live in the summer so I long for winter and snow. Then when I come back to the UK I want to go back to dubai! X

    • Oh god, snow, that’s another one. It’s lovely for the first day, and then the reality of rubbish transport and iced up pavements kicks in. But it does make everything look very pretty, I must admit.

  7. natasham says:

    hahahaha love it all!! And it’s so very true. I for one am not a fan of the heat and so am looking forward to September and as for Christmas…I can’t bloody wait!! 🙂 Bring on the festive season xx

  8. doctomum says:

    Yep – roll on chrimbo! I love the ideal picture of picnics and BBQs but the reality is a PITA that means I just wish I had bought a maccy D’s. #effitfriday

  9. Danie says:

    Love the swimming, hate the heat. #effitfriday

Leave a Reply

