Today’s Floortime Session and a Breakthrough

Today we finally managed to get together with our DIRFloortime Practitioner for a session after too many weeks of illness on both sides.

The Session

We began by watching a video from the previous session, where we were playing with sand. At one point I pretended the sand was icecream and went to eat it. It took a couple of seconds before Wee Girl realised, but then she screamed (a happy scream) and stopped me. I’d forgotten all about this, so I’m glad I had the chance to watch the video and remember.

Slowing Down

These sessions are always a lot of fun, with the focus usually on slowing down and building anticipation. This not only allows Wee Girl some vital time to process what is happening, but also gives her a chance to respond and take control.

Often when we play with our children there’s a lot going on and we switch between actions and games without even realising it. If you’re feeling anxious, it’s only natural that you speed up, trying to get as much interaction in as possible, but this can mean that a lot of opportunities for engagement are missed.

No More Jibber Jabber

While in many cases it’s important for a child to be surrounded by language, it can also be overwhelming, particularly if the child has processing difficulties. Too much noise becomes meaningless jibber jabber, especially if you’re not putting effort into making your words relevant and meaningful. It’s too easy to be talking for the sake of talking, and if you’re not getting anything back, your voice could be becoming robotic, your words flat and lifeless. Been there, done that. It’s exhausting, particularly because I’m not a terribly talkative person anyway, so talking all the time is something I find deeply unnatural.

One huge thing I have learnt is how to shut up, to not bombarb the child with comments, but to concentrate on making what I say relevant and meaningful. It’s a lot less knackering for me, too.

We’re Going to Need a Bigger Boat

And finally, the breakthrough. As part of building anticipation, I’ve been using the Jaws theme tune before I tickle her. Recently Wee Girl has been making a repetitive noice, which I just knew was meaningful but I couldn’t place what it meant — a sort of ‘diddit diddit’ noise. Today I twigged — she’s copying me! How did I miss that?

About allpastmidnight

Hi, I'm Alison, I am a mid-thirties mum to two children, Little Man and Wee Girl. Wee Girl is pre-verbal and has autism, while Little Man is the sort of happy chatty little guy who gets into everything and sings at the top of his lungs ā€” until the moment he makes eye contact with a stranger and he goes silent. I am cynical, sweary, and a bit disorganised, and I blog about parenting, ASD, food and just about anything else I can think of. Feel free to follow me on any of my social media. I can also be contacted by email at allpastmidnight [at] outlook [dot] com.
This entry was posted in Autism and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Today’s Floortime Session and a Breakthrough

  1. moderatemum says:

    Really needed this post today! We’re working on the balance between being anxious and proactive about my sons language delays. The information on slowing down was really helpful x

    • Thank you. It’s a tough one, especially if you’re at that point where you don’t know if the delay is due to an underlying issue or if it’s just one of those things and he’ll catch up in time. In either case, anxiety doesn’t help (when does it ever?) Thanks for visiting my blog and good luck with your son.

Leave a Reply

