Spiders in the Rain: A Moment with Wee Girl

Incy Wincy spider
climbed up the water spout
Down came the rain…

You all kow that nursery rhyme right? I do it with with Wee Girl, drumming my fingers on her head at ‘Down came the rain’. She does it herself and knows the gestures, tapping her fingers on her head at the right moment.

Yesterday we were walking home when it started to rain, that light British summer drizzle that we all know and love. Wee Girl started tapping her head and I realised what she was doing.

“Oh my god! Wee Girl, is it ‘rain’? Are you telling me it’s raining?”

And she laughed. And jumped up and down. And clapped her hands. Because I’d got it right.

Sometimes there are moments when no matter how hard I try, I cannot remain positive. Times when I’m plagued with worry and concerns for her future, and how she can possibly succeed in a world which is built for neurotypicals. And then there’s the rest of the time, when I remember how far the world has come in the last decade, and how much further it can go in the next.

So I hope for her. Because what else can I do? And I celebrate the little moments like this.

Talking or not, autism or not, day after day she’s learning and making links, and she wants to share what she’s learned with the world.

Incy Wincy, you rock.

Spider

Incy Wincy, sheltering from the rain

Mummascribbles
Modern Dad Pages
Best of Worst
Let's Talk Mommy
β€œOur
Super Busy Mum
Mamaduckquacks
About allpastmidnight

Hi, I'm Alison, I am a mid-thirties mum to two children, Little Man and Wee Girl. Wee Girl is pre-verbal and has autism, while Little Man is the sort of happy chatty little guy who gets into everything and sings at the top of his lungs β€” until the moment he makes eye contact with a stranger and he goes silent. I am cynical, sweary, and a bit disorganised, and I blog about parenting, ASD, food and just about anything else I can think of. Feel free to follow me on any of my social media. I can also be contacted by email at allpastmidnight [at] outlook [dot] com.
This entry was posted in Autism, Moments in my life, Speech and Language and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to Spiders in the Rain: A Moment with Wee Girl

  1. Great post. I have a couple friends with children with autism and that’s a similar attitude to what they have as well. Just stay positive and take it one day at a time. As draining as it is, it’s so worth it to see them succeed at things! Best of luck and we will be praying for you! #twinklytuesday http://www.ourfoodieappetite.com/lubo-review-virginia-beach-chicks-beach/

    • Thank you. I find staying positive is vital. There’ll always be negatives if you go looking for them, but focusing on the positives instead make life so much more enjoyable. Thanks for visiting.

  2. Oh how lovely!Something so small can mean the absolute world.Fantastic x #bestanworst

  3. Catie says:

    What a wonderful moment. Thanks for sharing and for being so honest. I loved this post. As a fellow special needs parent I know it is sometimes easy to become weighed down with the uncertainty but these moments are rays of light that deserve to be treasured and show us the bright possibilities. X #SSAmazingAchievements

    • Thank you. I find concentrating on the positives makes the whole situation much more bearable, and the alternative can become a vicious circle. It’s lovely as well to see their personalities shining through.

  4. karenblower says:

    Even now sometimes for the life of me I cannot figure out what Sir is trying to tell me, but I know the “YESSSSS!” feeling when you get it right first time! Well done to Wee Girl to for making the connection between the rhyme and the rain πŸ™‚

    • Yeah, it doesn’t matter how well you know them, sometimes they can still baffle you, can’t they? She was so happy about it as well — that’s what made the moment so lovely.

  5. Aww, what a lovely post, gives me shivers. Well done wee girl πŸ™‚ xx

  6. The Anxious Dragon says:

    I work with adults with learning dissabilities, some of whom have autism and it is aways fabulous when you get a little insight into their world. #MMWBH

  7. What an amazing way to communicate! I think us adults just need to listen harder. A lovely story to read =) #sharewithme

  8. This must have been a lovely moment and felt like a breakthrough for you too! Bless. I will always think that when I hear that song now. Thanks for sharing with #bestandworst lovely and see you soon xx

  9. Ahhh what a lovely moment to share. I love this. Thank you so much for linking up to Share With Me. #sharewithme

  10. ourlittleescapades says:

    Right you have made me cry. Firstly because what an amazing moment but secondly because I have the same feelings and fears. How fantastic that she put the two things together and shared the moment with you. A very big step for you both. The future is a very scary place I’m finding it better if I try to live in the here and now but its hard.

    Thanks for linking up with Small Steps Amazing Achievements :0)
    x

    • Thank you so much for your lovely comment, and sorry if I made you cry. It’s tough sometimes isn’t it, and agree that the future can be terrifying. That’s why it’s so important to focus on the here and now. Thanks for visiting.

  11. natasham says:

    What a lovely moment…moments like those just make your heart swell with pride don’t they?! Thanks for linking up to #happyquacks xx

  12. Sadia says:

    That’s so wonderful!!! Have you looked into Baby Sign at all? I can’t remember if we’ve already had this conversation. If she’s enjoying communicating manually, it might be quite the thing. I don’t usually link to my own stuff in comments, but I wonder if you wouldn’t find this helpful. Thanks for linking with #TwinklyTuesday.

    http://hdydi.com/2013/07/30/twinfant-tuesday-baby-sign-helps-with-early-communication/

    • Thank you. I’m hoping to do a Makaton course soon. It’s tough being consistent though, and she tends not to take much notice of what my hands are doing so it’s too easy to let things like that slide when there are other ways of getting things done.

Leave a Reply

