Colour With Mum: A Review

colour with me colouring book review autism activity improving engagement

Colouring is more fun when you do it together

Have you become aware of the adult colouring book craze yet? I’m willing to bet you have: adult colouring books are everywhere at the moment, stacked high in bookshops alongside packs of scented pens, stuffed into the magazine racks at the supermarket.

It’s all about mindfulness, allowing yourself a few moments every day to empty your mind and unwind.

Which is great and all, but honestly? Who really has the time when you’re already struggling to find the time to balance your immense and growing to do list with keeping your children entertained?

This book is the answer.

Colour with mum review adult colouring book activities autism improving engagement keeping your child entertained

Wee Man wants a go.

I stumbled across it in Waterstones just when I was first becoming aware of the craze, and fell in love, both with the idea and with the execution. This book is beautiful and the perfect size to share with your child. The paper feels good quality with no bleed through, and the illustrations are lovely, with plenty of intricate details for you and your child to colour in.

adult colouring books colour with mum autism keeping your child entertained improving engagementThe book lies flat, making it easy to sit side by side or opposite each other at a table. As you can see, most of the pages are themed, with one of the pictures simpler and the other more intricate.

Wee Girl and I spent a long while bent over the table colouring in, and she stayed far more focused on the activity than she would have done had I left her to colour on her own. We also had a bit of a communication breakthrough with her pointing at bubbles on one of the pages and saying ‘bubbub’ (just in case you’re not aware, she doesn’t talk AT ALL, so this is pretty awesome).

So in short, it’s a win-win-win situation: you get to participate in a hobby which is calming and meditative, while keeping your child entertained and improving engagement.

There’s also a slightly less gendered version, Colour with Me, but I haven’t seen this so I’m not sure if it’s in the same format, although I believe it is.

Highly recommended.

adult colouring book colour with me review autism improving engagement activities to do with your autistic childadult colouring book colour with me review autism improving engagement activities to do with your autistic child

The Free Range Family
#ToddlerApprovedTuesday
About allpastmidnight

Hi, I'm Alison, I am a mid-thirties mum to two children, Little Man and Wee Girl. Wee Girl is pre-verbal and has autism, while Little Man is the sort of happy chatty little guy who gets into everything and sings at the top of his lungs β€” until the moment he makes eye contact with a stranger and he goes silent. I am cynical, sweary, and a bit disorganised, and I blog about parenting, ASD, food and just about anything else I can think of. Feel free to follow me on any of my social media. I can also be contacted by email at allpastmidnight [at] outlook [dot] com.
This entry was posted in Activities, Autism, Book Reviews, Craft and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

30 Responses to Colour With Mum: A Review

  1. Mrs Tubbs says:

    Those look excellent! I shall look out for them next time I’m in Waterstones

  2. Becky, Cuddle Fairy says:

    What a wonderful idea! I’ve recently learned about adult coloring books. I love this idea of coloring with mum. It’s amazing that your daughter spoke! That says so much! What a great way to learn x

    • It really was lovely, just a calm afternoon sitting around a table, flicking through the book, colouring in.And her saying ‘bubbub’is probablythe clearest word she’s ever said. It’s really lovely hearing words starting to drip through at last. Thanks for visiting.

  3. Charlotte @ Our Daly Life says:

    I’d seen the adult colouring books recently, and in honesty that it was a bit weird, and agree, who on earth has the time. But you’re right, what a great way to empty your mind a little and wind down, and even better to be able to do it with your little one. Will def be checking these out.. many thanks #ordinarymoments

    • Thanks Charlotte. I have to admit it is fun, and some of the designs are just so pretty. I suppose it’s one of those things you can do while watching TV in the evenings without losing track of what’s going on (unlike blogging, I’m sorry to say).

  4. mummydaddyme says:

    Ah this looks fantastic- what a great idea for a book and a nice thing to do together too. x

  5. mackenzieglanville says:

    I love this idea, nice to make it something you can share together #mummyandus

  6. Erika Erika says:

    that book will make a nice gift. So lovely! Visiting from Clairejustine blog link up.

  7. I’ve come across a wee hype as well over here and must admit that I’ve purchased a book as a gift and another for myself as well. Haven’t started trying it out yet though but want to very soon! That version you’ve just reviewed now seems awesome if you have children – what a fantastic idea! I can imagine it to be a great success. Thank you for sharing ❀

  8. You Baby Me Mummy says:

    Such a lovely thing to do together x

  9. Coombe Mill says:

    I love the idea of colouring together #CreativeMondays

  10. Wonderful idea to engage with our little ones, while a nice bonding moment with them too! #MummyandUs

  11. Claire says:

    These look great books πŸ™‚

    Thanks for sharing at Creative Mondays

  12. I am so tempted to buy one of those adult colouring books but I know it would never get touched for the same reason…I don’t have the time. This is a great idea though and I think I may invest in one once Monkey is a little older. Thank you for sharing πŸ™‚ #toddlerapprovedtuesday

    • Well, if you want to try the trend, then this is a great way of doing it. The pictures are lovely, aren’t overly childish and some of them are quite intricate. Thanks for visiting.

  13. What a great idea! Everyone loves to colour don’t they! Such a great read and thanks for sharing! Suz x Beauisblue.com

  14. Becky Pink says:

    I’m so glad you like this book – I bought it for a friend of my daughter’s and hoped she and her heavily pregnant mum would enjoy it, hopefully they like it as much as you! I think I might treat myself (and daughter of course!) Becky x #ToddlerApprovedTuesday

  15. becky says:

    Thanks for sharing with #ToddlerApprovedTuesday. I have seen these around the shop and want sure of the fascination for adults…I mean I am more than happy to sit with the kids colouring books! πŸ˜‰ I like that this one lays flat I do hate it when you cant colour the whole picture!! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

