The Cookbook Addict: A Review of Kitchen Revolution

cookbooks kitchen revolution cookbook reviews

Just a few of my cookbooks

So, have I mentioned that I have a lot of cookbooks? Well, I do.

The above picture is a quick snap of part of my collection. See those cookbooks that are facing outwards? Want to take a guess at what’s behind them?

cookbooks2
Yep, more cookbooks.

So far my count on Eat Your Books is 326, and I’m certain I’ve bought some cookbooks recently that haven’t been added to the list yet. The actual count is probably closer to 350, and that doesn’t count the stacks of magazines we own.

I’m aware that I may have a bit of a problem.

But I also get a lot of value out of my collection. I read them repeatedly, and appreciate everything that I’ve learned along the way. Gradually I have become a better and more knowledgeable cook. There’s always something new to learn (and there are always new cookbooks to buy).

In the Cookbook Addict posts I’m going to be reviewing some of the cookbooks that I own, and sharing my favourites with you all.

cookbooks kitchen revolution cookbook reviews

My extremely bashed up copy

First up is Kitchen Revolution, a work of genius by Rosie Sykes, Polly Russell and Zoe Heron. It was published in 2008, and the sheer amount of work that has gone into this is astonishing.

The layout is unusual. Every week of the year begins with a ‘big meal from scratch’, essentially your Sunday lunch type recipe, often — but not always — a roast with all the sides. After that, two ‘something for nothing’ recipes, which utilise leftovers from the big meal. Then a ‘seasonal supper’, which takes advantage of seasonal ingredients, and a ‘larder feast’, which, as you might guess, can be knocked up mostly from ingredients in your storecupboards. Finally there’s the ‘two for one’, a meal that serves 8, with instructions for freezing half for another day.

Phew.

On top of all that, there are also four seasonal pudding recipes each month. So that’s 365 recipes, already, but because lots of the recipes contain sides, the actual recipe count is much higher. For example, a January ‘big meal for scratch’ for roast chicken has two extra recipes for mujaddara and lemon carrots, while a recipe for five-spice steamed fish comes with Chinese greens and seaweed rice.

Kitchen revolution cookbooks autism blog parenting

Page from Kitchen Revolution showing the recipes for August

The above picture should give you an idea of what to expect. Many of the recipes are unusual. Some are simple to cook, while others are more complicated. There are, however, no pictures at all, which some may find off-putting, but frankly I can’t see how they would have been able to fit pictures in. This is one of those books that you have to sit down with and read from cover to cover to really make the most of it, but it is so crammed full of recipes it really is worth having on your shelf.

MamaMummyMum

The Reading Residence
About allpastmidnight

Hi, I'm Alison, I am a mid-thirties mum to two children, Little Man and Wee Girl. Wee Girl is pre-verbal and has autism, while Little Man is the sort of happy chatty little guy who gets into everything and sings at the top of his lungs — until the moment he makes eye contact with a stranger and he goes silent. I am cynical, sweary, and a bit disorganised, and I blog about parenting, ASD, food and just about anything else I can think of. Feel free to follow me on any of my social media. I can also be contacted by email at allpastmidnight [at] outlook [dot] com.
This entry was posted in Book Reviews, Cookbooks and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to The Cookbook Addict: A Review of Kitchen Revolution

  1. I think I should show my husband this blogpost – he thinks that I have too many cookbooks but I don’t have as many as you!!

    #readwithme

    • Oh dear, no one seems to have as many as me. I’m just going to point my finger at Diana Henry and Nigella Lawson who have collections numbering in the thousands. See? I’ve hardly got any.

  2. Mother Mands says:

    Yep, you’ve definitely got a problem 😀 I thought I was bad for buying cookbooks, but you’ve completely out done me! I’ve slowed down a lot lately because I just tend to look at pictures or browse online and make stuff up. There are a few books I have my eye on, one on pulses and I’d like a really good bread book, my bread making skills are improving, but I’ve still got a lot to learn.

    That Kitchen Revolution book sounds really good and handy for meal planning by the sound of it, I like the fact it has seasonal desserts too. I try and buy and cook things seasonally as much as I can. I look forward to reading more of your cookbook reviews, I reckon it’ll keep you busy for a very long time 😀

    • Aww, you’ve got to be more specific than that! What’s the ‘pulses’ one you’re looking at? Bread books are a tricky one as I think it depends an awful lot on how interested you are in making artisan bread vs. everyday bread. I like James Morton Brilliant Bread a lot, and I used Paul Hollywood’s Bread a bit too. Then I got a breadmaker and all of that flew straight out the window.

      I had slowed down, dear oh dear, I made the mistake of looking at Amazon’s new and upcoming books section. Yeah, let’s just say that was a bad idea.

  3. I am starting to build quite a collection of cook books myself, so handy to have though aren’t they!! thanks for sharing with #readwithme

  4. teentweentoddler1 says:

    Oh my goodness, I thought I had an addiction but mine is very tame next to yours 🙂 x #ReadWithMe

  5. Oh wow, you do have a lot of cookbooks! I have around 20, and as I rarely actually pick them up, that’s more than enough for me! This one looks really good, though, very practical, just the sort that I’d like. Thanks for sharing with #PaperyPeep

  6. You sound like my husband he loves cookbooks and will sit down and read them just for fun, he hasn’t got as many as you though I don’t think! I think I may check this one out for him for Christmas 🙂

    • Same here — there’s something very calming about pictures and descriptions of food. If you’re thinking of picking it up, check on Amazon Marketplace. Last time I looked they had a few going very cheaply.

  7. Pingback: Salmon Miso Noodle Soup | All Past Midnight

  8. Stephanie says:

    I don’t think there’s anything wrong with having a cookbook or two (hundred) says a fellow cookbook addict! This looks an interesting one too – oh dear, now look what you’ve done 😉 #paperypeep

  9. Mrs Tubbs says:

    Just showed this picture to my husband who is completely traumatised! LOL! Gosh, how do you remember what’s in where?! This does look like a useful book though, I love the idea of one big weekend meal followed by various weekday meals out of the same thing. It’s what our grandparents did. Must not look at Amazon?!

Leave a Reply

