Schwartz Marinade in a Bag, Red Wine and Garlic: Review

Schwartz grill mates red wine and garlic review sunday lunch
This Sunday we fancied being a bit lazy. We had a bag of Schwartz Grill Mates Red Wine and Garlic Marinade hidden away in the cupboard and decided to dig it out. I’m pretty sure we received this as part of a Degustabox, but it could have been a freebie from Checkout Smart instead.

Using it was simple (despite us having some problems working out how to open the ziplock bag). All you have to do is open the bag, add the meat (up to 900g), close it up again, and leave it to marinade, ideally overnight.

We used a pack of thighs and drumsticks, which I’m sure weighed more than 900g. It took a bit of squeezing and shaking to make sure all the chicken pieces were coated, but that’ll be because we overfilled the bag.

schwartz grill mates red wine and garlic review chicken piecesWe put the chicken in the bag in the morning, and left it in the fridge until it was time to cook, so probably a good six hours. This is meant to be for the barbecue, but that sounded like altogether far too much work, so we whacked the chicken in the oven instead.

It came out very tender and moist. I think convenience food like this has come on an awful lot in the past few years, although there’s no getting past the fact that it would be considerably cheaper to knock up your own marinade. This single sachet costs around £2.00, although it does coat enough meat to serve 4-6.

Although I do prefer cooking from scratch and would usually make my own marinade, having something like this in the cupboard is handy for those days when you really want something extra-simple. It starts looking better value when the alternative is a takeaway.

So would I buy it again? I probably would, but only occasionally and to stash in the cupboard for those days when I just want something extra easy. The chicken was delicious, and the bag was very handy and easy to use, once we’d figured out how to get it open.

About allpastmidnight

Hi, I'm Alison, I am a mid-thirties mum to two children, Little Man and Wee Girl. Wee Girl is pre-verbal and has autism, while Little Man is the sort of happy chatty little guy who gets into everything and sings at the top of his lungs — until the moment he makes eye contact with a stranger and he goes silent. I am cynical, sweary, and a bit disorganised, and I blog about parenting, ASD, food and just about anything else I can think of. Feel free to follow me on any of my social media. I can also be contacted by email at allpastmidnight [at] outlook [dot] com.
This entry was posted in Reviews and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

