The Cookbook Addict: Upcoming Releases

Upcoming releases cookbooks All past midnight
So, you may or may not be aware by now that I have a bit of a thing for cookbooks? I’ve been trying to cut back drastically on the number that I’ve been buying, but it looks like the publishers have other ideas. Looking at the new and upcoming books section on Amazon was… well, let’s just say it was a bit of a mistake.

Here are the books that are making me twitchy.


eating well made easyEating Well Made Easy, by Lorraine Pascale

I love Lorraine Pascale’s books. Love the simple and easy recipes and how fresh and delicious they are. And this one’s all about healthy eating too.

everyday superfoodEveryday Super Food, by Jamie Oliver

Okay, no really; is someone taking the piss? I have some issues with Jamie Oliver’s cookbooks (how often does the average person cook for eight or more?), but there’s no doubting that his last few books have been works of genius. I ADORE Save With Jamie, and every time I flick through 15-minute Meals I wonder why I’m not cooking from it more often, but I found Comfort Food a bit of a disappointment, not so much for the recipes, which were droolworthy, but for the lack of useability. I’m seldom cooking for more than four, and I’d really like to be able to use a cookbook for more than special occasions.

But this. This? It’s like the publishers have sat down and plotted the best way to get me to spend money. The utter, utter bastards.

meat feastsMeat Feasts, by the Hairy Bikers

I just… I mean, look at that rib of beef. LOOK AT IT. I may well be trying to reduce my meat consumption, but I’m still a sucker for a book that clearly features massive slabs of protein. But having said that, massive Sunday roasts often mean lots of leftovers, so arguably it does mean eating much less meat overall. That’s what I’m telling myself anyway.

simply nigellaSimply Nigella, by Nigella Lawson

Of the five books here, this is probably the one I can put off for a bit, but I must admit the Amazon description makes it sound enormously appealing.

kitchen diaries 3

A Year of Good Eating, Kitchen Diaries III, by Nigel Slater

I believe my exact words on seeing this were, ‘Oh my god, there’s going to be a Kitchen Diaries III!” I love the first two books, not so much to cook from, but simply to read and savour. because I find I very rarely cook from Nigel Slater’s books. His cooking ethos is very different to mine; I find the concept of kitchen suppers baffling. A couple of ingredients do not dinner make. You need protein and carbs and two of your five a day. A pork chop on a plate with very little else WILL NOT DO. That said, this is a must buy. These books are a joy to read.

Are you planning on buying any cookbooks at the moment?

About allpastmidnight

Hi, I'm Alison, I am a mid-thirties mum to two children, Little Man and Wee Girl. Wee Girl is pre-verbal and has autism, while Little Man is the sort of happy chatty little guy who gets into everything and sings at the top of his lungs — until the moment he makes eye contact with a stranger and he goes silent. I am cynical, sweary, and a bit disorganised, and I blog about parenting, ASD, food and just about anything else I can think of. Feel free to follow me on any of my social media. I can also be contacted by email at allpastmidnight [at] outlook [dot] com.
This entry was posted in Books, Cookbooks and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to The Cookbook Addict: Upcoming Releases

  1. min1980 says:

    One of my favourite cookbooks is a simple paperback of Indian meals with no photographs. I can’t remember the name of it off the top of my head (something like “An Indian Housewife’s Recipe Book”), but it is basically just one person’s family recipes which they wrote down; no celebrity chefs, no gimmicks. And they all use pretty much the same ingredients so once you have the basics you can make pretty much anything!

    • That sounds pretty great. I’m not massively keen on some of the flashier nonsense you get in cookbooks these days, and I really dislike it when half the pictures in the book are photos of the author rather than of the food. I love seeing family recipes too, that feeling that these are recipes handed down because they’re tried and tested. I might just have to check that book out. 🙂

  2. Mama says:

    My wife does most of our cooking and tends to prefer using online recipes as she’s never found a cookbook she loves. Sadly she never remembers to save the recipes so we always lose the good ones.

    • Can I point you in the direction of eatyourbooks.com? It’s basically a site that indexes cookbooks. On a free account I think y0u can add up to 5 books, but it also indexes online recipes and you can keep track of as many of those as you want on a free acount. I really must do a review of it soon.

Leave a Reply

