A Day-trip to Eastbourne and a Catch-up

A Day-trip to Eastbourne and a Catch-up All Past midnight autism parenting blogI’d been meaning to take the kids on a trip to the beach, and with the temperature on Saturday expected to soar up to 26 degrees, it seemed like the perfect opportunity to wring some fun out of the summer while it lasted.

So we packed up the pram with a bucket and spade, swimming costumes and some towels and set off on the train.

A Day-trip to Eastbourne and a Catch-up All Past midnight autism parenting blog
We headed straight for the beach, changed into our swimming gear, and then Wee Girl and I headed straight for the water. We waded in, splashed around for a bit and then returned to dry land for some digging in the sand. I’m a little disappointed that she didn’t want to spend a bit more time in the water — she usually loves swimming, but she isn’t used to waves and it might have been a bit cold for her (lovely once you’re in though).

After a bit of digging, we packed up and went for a bit of a wander along the pier. There was a fire here in July 2014, but they have been busy rebuilding and it’s looking good. It’s strange without the amusement arcade though.

A Day-trip to Eastbourne and a Catch-up All Past midnight autism parenting blog A Day-trip to Eastbourne and a Catch-up All Past midnight autism parenting blogWe ended up having lunch in a tapas restaurant, Toreros, which was delicious and then wandered around the shops for a bit longer before heading home.


Potty training is going well. Wee Girl used the toilet on her own at nursery today, which I don’t think she’s done before; she’s always held it until I get there.

And for the big news, we have finally moved Little Man into his own room. I have been nervous as hell over this but aside from when he woke at 11:30 last night, he slept right through until 8:30 this morning. Sadly, Wee Girl didn’t sleep through, but I’m hopeful that it won’t be long before I get a proper unbroken night’s sleep.

I can’t wait.

You Baby Me Mummy

“Our

About allpastmidnight

Hi, I'm Alison, I am a mid-thirties mum to two children, Little Man and Wee Girl. Wee Girl is pre-verbal and has autism, while Little Man is the sort of happy chatty little guy who gets into everything and sings at the top of his lungs — until the moment he makes eye contact with a stranger and he goes silent. I am cynical, sweary, and a bit disorganised, and I blog about parenting, ASD, food and just about anything else I can think of. Feel free to follow me on any of my social media. I can also be contacted by email at allpastmidnight [at] outlook [dot] com.
This entry was posted in Family and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to A Day-trip to Eastbourne and a Catch-up

  1. Hannah says:

    We are toilet training here too, well done to your little lady. My little lady has recently moved into her cot in a room with her sisters, and we are all sleeping a little bit better for it. Fingers crossed for that unbroken nights sleep soon, it makes a huge difference! x

    • Good luck on the toilet training. It’s gone fairly smoothly for us, luckily, but it took a long time before we felt ready to start. Last night wasn’t quite as undisturbed, but luckily settling him isn’t too hard — good sign. I’m keeping my fingers crossed.

  2. Jenna says:

    You’ve just got to make the most of the nice weather when we get don’t we? The warm sunny days seem to be few and far between at the moment.

    Love the snap of the seagull pinching a chip! 😉

    I’m glad little man did well in his own room. I remember when we moved my daughter into her own room, after my initial worries, we all slept so much better. #pointshoot

    • Yeah, we don’t get anywhere near enough sunshine in the UK, and it’s so nice to get away to the seaside for a bit. I used to live near the sea and I miss it so much. We’re still having napping issues, unfortunately, but I’m persevering. Cosleeping is great, but it had got to the point where we were both not getting a good night’s sleep because of it, so it was definitely time to move him into his own room.Thanks for visiting.

  3. ourlittleescapades says:

    It looks like you had a lovely day. Our little guy doesn’t like the sand but loves the sea. Well done on the potty training. Let me know if you work out how to have a full nights sleep ;0)

    Thanks for linking up with Small Steps Amazing Achievements :0)
    x

    • It was fun but I’m a bit gutted that we didn’t get to do more swimming. I think next year I will bugger off to the seaside on my own with a book, and have a day to myself, swimming and reading and lazing around.

      Getting him settled has been changeable;some nights he zonks out really easily, some nights he doesn’t. We’ve had one or two nights where he’s slept right through so I’m feeling much more composed and rested than I have in a while. Thanks for visiting.

Leave a Reply

