Starting School for the Disorganised & a Giveaway

Wee Girl starts school in September, and I almost can’t believe it. She still feels like my baby girl, and it’s so strange to think that I’m going to be joining the ranks of school parents, waving her off every morning for what feels like most of the year.

She will be going to a unit for children with autism in a mainstream school, something which I feel very strongly is the best option for her. She will have access to mainstream classes when appropriate, but also the safety net of the unit if it all gets a bit much for her. Overall the school has a happy and positive vibe, and I believe they are motivated to work towards becoming a centre of excellence for teaching children with autism.

In short, I think we lucked out.

But what I’ve written skirts around what to me is a massive problem. I am incredibly, unbelievably disorganised, and on top of that I WORRY about not having everything organised. It’s not a good combination, believe me. Because Wee Girl is our eldest, we’ve never done anything like this and I think it’s fair to say I have no clue what I’m meant to be doing. No clue.

We have some of her uniform bought, the main bits, but no shoes yet. Or the shorts and t-shirts for her P.E. kit. Or any stationery. And just because I HAVE bought something doesn’t mean that I’ll be able to find it because the house is so cluttered and–

Well, let’s just say panic is starting to set in. How has August managed to go by so quickly?

But help is at hand:

Back to school checklist Print
Click here to print the back to school checklist

It’s an incredibly useful checklist that you can work through with your kids to make sure they have everything they need to start school. It even has a space where you can add any extras that they might need. So handy. Just looking at it is causing my rising tide of panic to subside, and I can see us using this in the many years to come. Because something tells me I’m not going to become organised overnight.

This content has been created by http://www.myvouchercodes.com/

To celebrate my daughter’s upcoming return to school, I’ll be giving away a Β£20 Paperchase UK eGift voucher to spend on stationery from Paperchase Online for your child. Or if their stuff is far too pretty for them and they’ll just draw knobs on it, spend it on yourself. This competition is open to worldwide readers.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Visit Loquax for more competitions

*Written in collaboration with myVoucherCodes

About allpastmidnight

Hi, I'm Alison, I am a mid-thirties mum to two children, Little Man and Wee Girl. Wee Girl is pre-verbal and has autism, while Little Man is the sort of happy chatty little guy who gets into everything and sings at the top of his lungs β€” until the moment he makes eye contact with a stranger and he goes silent. I am cynical, sweary, and a bit disorganised, and I blog about parenting, ASD, food and just about anything else I can think of. Feel free to follow me on any of my social media. I can also be contacted by email at allpastmidnight [at] outlook [dot] com.
This entry was posted in Education, Giveaway and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

80 Responses to Starting School for the Disorganised & a Giveaway

  1. gouldie7 says:

    At the moment, the biggest priority for stationary is some notepads for my wife! She is forever writing lists of daily jobs, so we get through a lot of notepads!

  2. i would use them for something for my grandaughter x

  3. Maria Hackett says:

    I would send towards a journal. always wanted to own one. xx

  4. I’d be completely selfish and set some pretty stationary for myself πŸ˜€

  5. Paula Readings says:

    I would use them myself, so many things.

  6. isis1981uk says:

    I’d spend them on myself as my son (going into Foundation Year) is too young to need stationery.

  7. Jade Hewlett says:

    I’d spend the voucher on myself

  8. Sinead ORourke says:

    I would buy some new pens for the household.

  9. Elaine Anderson says:

    I would use them myself and buy pens in lovely colours

  10. Hazel Rea says:

    I’d spend them on wrapping paper and some cute stationery items for Christmas.

  11. Darrell says:

    So many things to get for the children, would have to be for them πŸ™‚

  12. On myself! I have just spent a fortune of my children’s back to school stationary so they don’t need any more x

  13. Tracy Newton says:

    I would spend mine on my son. He goes through lots.

  14. Joanne Baldwin says:

    Myself – back to college soon and have a passion for groovy folders and spiral notebooks!

  15. My daughter would love thanks

  16. I’d spend it on us both!

  17. clair downham says:

    i would spend it on my children

  18. Liz Briggs says:

    I would love to buy Craft Items for all of us to use together – thank you for the giveaway x

  19. whiteshadows1 says:

    I would use them myself

  20. kayleigh Bates says:

    On myself, my daughters only 4 so doesn’t need her own yet πŸ™‚ x

  21. Samantha Loughlin says:

    I’d get stationary xx

  22. Alix Smith says:

    My kids are too little to have anything from paperchase at the moment so i’d totally spend them on myself! (I have a slight stationary obsession so i’d be in heaven!!)

  23. Carolin says:

    With stationery I’m always selfish, so I’d totally spend it on me πŸ˜‰ A girl can’t ever have too many notebooks, right?

  24. Ruth Harwood says:

    on myself πŸ™‚

  25. Patricia Owen says:

    My granddaughter would love more stationary and I always like to encourage her to write.

  26. claire griffiths says:

    i would spend them on both me and the kids i would get a notebook for me as i make so many lists and a pencil case and some pens for the kids

  27. Emilie Curry says:

    Myself!

  28. kibbler86 says:

    If I won I would buy stuff for both of us, stamps and washi tapes are a must! x

  29. ashleigh allan says:

    I would spend it on my kids!

  30. ah wow thats a lot of stuff to think about! My eldest is starting school on Thursday! Luckily the only things (i think) we need to bring are spare clothes, wet weather gear, wellies, slippers (all left at school) and i think thats it, unless I am missing something.. Which would be quite embarrassing! Do you have to bring all that stuff for a little one going into reception?

  31. katherine s says:

    I have a stationary addiction, so I would probably keep it for myself.

  32. aaron broad says:

    I would give these to the gf

  33. spanner15 says:

    I’d be selfish! Can’t beat a bit of stationary!

  34. LTabstar says:

    I’d be totally selfish! It doesn’t happen often so I’m allowed… right?

  35. I don’t have any children so I guess I could be 100% selfish and spend it on myself for cool uni supplies. If i’m feeling generous, I may use the voucher to buy my younger sister something as she’s somewhat of an artist πŸ™‚

  36. clairew137 says:

    I’d spend on my son.

  37. Kay Panayi says:

    I’d treat my daughter I think

  38. I love stationary, screw the kids its all mine! haha! Thanks for sharing! Suz x Beauisblue.com

  39. lizzyjanecooper says:

    My child haha! πŸ˜€

  40. rachel hirst says:

    Thanks for adding your competition to this weeks #Competitionlinky

  41. Melanie slater says:

    I’d spoil myself as these holidays I’ve done nothing but spoil the kids.

  42. Liam Bishop says:

    My son loves colouring so I’d have to get him something!

  43. melanie stirling says:

    I would probably end up sharing it,I usually do.

  44. Sarah S says:

    I’d be selfish and spoil myself!

  45. Gemma Holland says:

    Something for them & something for me 😜

  46. Christine Caple says:

    I would have to use them for myself, I can’t resist pretty stationery!

  47. Suzanne Howell says:

    My little girl needs new stationery to go back to school with so we would spend it on that.

  48. Sarah S says:

    My daughter and I love Paperchse so we would fight over the vouchers if I won! But then I would love a new journal so I might not tell her!

  49. Janine Atkin says:

    id share!

  50. Sara Goodman says:

    I’d probably buy loads of wrapping paper, because not only is their gift wrap gorgeous, but it’s great quality too πŸ™‚
    Thanks for a fab giveaway! xx

  51. I’d get us something each πŸ˜‰

  52. Lucy Bishop says:

    I’d be selfish – after all my son is only 2! πŸ™‚

  53. Jess Mary says:

    I would spend the voucher on myself, as I love their products so much!

  54. What a great checklist!! And a fab giveaway. Thanks for linking up to #justanotheelinky xx

  55. Bonnie King says:

    Myself πŸ˜‰ I love notepads.

  56. Kimberley Hazelton says:

    I would use it for gifts for birthdays/christmas

  57. Jason Nutt says:

    i would use them for something for my kids

  58. I would spoil myself I think hehe.

  59. Monica Gilbert says:

    I’d probably spend it on items for the family to use.

  60. kelandab22 says:

    I’d treat myself to a fancy notebook and pen

    Kelly Ellen Hirst

  61. I’d be selfish and spoil myself by purchasing some pretty stationary for myself!

  62. Claire Davies says:

    Absolutely love Paperchase! I would use it towards a new diary for 2016 – won’t be long!

  63. Nicola Weeks says:

    Myself… is that bad? Haha!

  64. sheridarby says:

    I would use them on my sons and daughter

  65. Victoria Prince says:

    I would buy some pens we could all share!

  66. I’d spend them on my niece who starts High School next week!

  67. Karen Richards says:

    Myself. My son has enough stationery to open a shop.

  68. Emma Whittaker says:

    Be spent on my little munchkin for colouring and stickers πŸ™‚

  69. Karl Borowy says:

    gifts for family

  70. I wish I could say on me but my 12 year old daughter spends pretty much every penny LOL! So it would go on her and her brother who is starting college this week.

  71. Natalie Crossan says:

    I’d use these for my daughter x

Leave a Reply

