Easy Prawn and Miso Noodle Pot Recipe

miso_noodle_pot
I love this recipe, and I’m really proud of how simple, easy and delicious it it. While bragging about my creations goes against the grain, oh my god, this is delicious. Far tastier than it has any right to be, given the total lack of effort that goes into making it. Having seen several versions of this recipe about, I wanted to have a go at creating my own, but making it as quick and easy as possible, and requiring nothing more than a kettle to ‘cook’ it. My husband has no access to a microwave at work, so I had him in mind when I made it.

I’d intended to use tofu or cooked chicken for this, but I couldn’t find the former in the shop and we didn’t have any leftover chicken in the house, so I used prawns instead.

You want noodles that only need soaking, not cooking, so ideally very fine vermicelli noodles. You could also use straight-to-wok noodles of any kind, but these would work out more expensive. Alternatively, you could cook any noodles that you like but that means extra effort. Another option would be to make some courgette or other vegetable noodles and cook them beforehand, possibly by giving them a blast in the microwave. Bear in mind if you use ready cooked noodles, you won’t want to leave it to soak for as long.

If you don’t have any Marigold vegetable boullion I recommend it. It’s a very useful product to have in the cupboard; it’s gluten-free and there is a vegan version as well. I tend to use it when making up stock with a stock cube just seems like too much effort (yes, I am that lazy). I use it for making couscous, for example, and it’s perfect here because it’s dry and so doesn’t make the noodles soggy.

For the container ideally you want something heatproof. A Kilner jar is ideal.

Miso and prawn instant noodle pot @ allpastmidnight.wordpress.com
Ingredient
1 tbsp miso paste
2 tsp Marigold vegetable bouillon
1 tsp 5-spice
1 block of vermicelli rice noodles
1/2 a pack of cooked prawns (or use leftover cooked chicken)
Frozen mixed vegetables (If you’re making this for the following day, no need to defrost)
1-2 spring onions, sliced

Method
1) Place the miso paste, Marigold bouillion powder and five spice at the bottom of the jar.

2.) Squeeze the bundle of rice noodles through the top. Add the prawns (or chicken) and put the vegetables on top. Finally top with the spring onions, close the jar and keep in the fridge until needed.

3.) When ready to eat, boil the kettle and pour over enough water to cover. You can always top it up if needed. Leave to ‘cook’ for 4-5 minutes, then give it a good stir, making sure the flavouring at the bottom is incorporated.

4.) Eat.

Tasty Tuesdays on HonestMum.com

Sundays Down Under
About allpastmidnight

Hi, I'm Alison, I am a mid-thirties mum to two children, Little Man and Wee Girl. Wee Girl is pre-verbal and has autism, while Little Man is the sort of happy chatty little guy who gets into everything and sings at the top of his lungs — until the moment he makes eye contact with a stranger and he goes silent. I am cynical, sweary, and a bit disorganised, and I blog about parenting, ASD, food and just about anything else I can think of. Feel free to follow me on any of my social media. I can also be contacted by email at allpastmidnight [at] outlook [dot] com.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Easy Prawn and Miso Noodle Pot Recipe

  1. What a fab idea! I’ve got some vermicelli noodles in the cupboard and I’m never sure what to blooming do with them. Will give this a little go or something very similar depending on what I’ve got in the cupboards 🙂

  2. nikkifrankhamilton says:

    This looks delish! Being gluten free I would use rice noodles and I’m sure it would be awesome and quick. Thanks for sharing!

  3. Pingback: Curried Coconut Tofu Noodle Pot Recipe | All Past Midnight

Leave a Reply

