Where did the Weekend Go?

Our Weekend playing pool @ allpastmidnight.wordpress.comWait, what? Where did the bloody weekend go? I write this feeling knackered. Wee Girl was hard to settle last night — sometimes she gets incredibly keyed up, and just won’t. Go. To. Sleep. Little Man was better, but still woke up in the night and it was tough settling him. Then when I finally managed it, the cat started yowling downstairs. The cheeky tortoiseshell from over the back had come into our garden and was parading in front of the windows taunting him. Nyah nyah. So far this morning has been whingy, the kitchen in a wreck, and I’m expecting someone one to look at why the skylight leaks but only in very heavy rain, but I don’t have the energy to do anything.

Even making myself a second cup of coffee seems like too much work. THAT’s how bad it is. Ugh.

Anyway, the weekend was lovely even if it didn’t last long enough. There was a barbecue. There was swimming.

And there was pool.

Our Weekend playing pool @ allpastmidnight.wordpress.comSo turns out Wee Girl loved watching us play pool. We only had a couple of games, but there quite a lot of excited flappiness as you can probably see from the photo above, and lots of crouching down to watch the balls. She loved it.

She wanted to get involved.

Our Weekend playing pool @ allpastmidnight.wordpress.com

Sorry for the blurry shot

Sadly that might have to wait until she’s a bit bigger.

Still we had a great time, and I think we will be having many more games of pool in the future.

snowingindoors
Best of Worst
“Our
About allpastmidnight

Hi, I'm Alison, I am a mid-thirties mum to two children, Little Man and Wee Girl. Wee Girl is pre-verbal and has autism, while Little Man is the sort of happy chatty little guy who gets into everything and sings at the top of his lungs — until the moment he makes eye contact with a stranger and he goes silent. I am cynical, sweary, and a bit disorganised, and I blog about parenting, ASD, food and just about anything else I can think of. Feel free to follow me on any of my social media. I can also be contacted by email at allpastmidnight [at] outlook [dot] com.
This entry was posted in Photography and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Where did the Weekend Go?

  1. Exactly what I am thinking! Where have the summer holday go? Lovely photo of her with the pool stick! I am sure shes going to be a good pool player =) #pointshoot

    • I hope so; playing pool is so much fun and it’d be great for her hand-eye coordination. It’s actually starting to get… well, not cold exactly, but there’s a certain autumnal chill to the air at the moment. Not impressed.

  2. MummyTravels says:

    Fun! Sometimes the weekends whizz by and there’s so much packed in, it’s a relief to sit in my nice quiet office. #bestandworst

  3. BBQ and pool sounds fab! We always try and pack loads in at weekends but then we are all so blooming tired! I’m surviving on tea and chocolate today! #bestandworst

  4. Silly Mummy says:

    She looks like she’s already better than me at pool! #SSAmazingAchievements

  5. Oh no I hope the day got better. Where did the weekend go? It looks like yours was good fun though, I have not played pool for years, must correct that! X

  6. You Baby Me Mummy says:

    Ah bless her she wanted to join in! She might need a stool 🙂 Thanks for linking up to #PointShoot x

    • Yeah, she was fascinated. We had to hover near her in case she tried to knock one of the balls into the pocket, and when we’d finished our game she wanted to run over to the other tables to watch them.

  7. ah I hate a weekend that flies! Sounds like you had some disturbances but got pretty settled. I used to love pool as a child! Hopefully will be a nice hobby for you all! Thanks for sharing with #bestandworst and see you soon!! x

  8. mummydaddyme says:

    The weekends go far too quickly for my liking! And I love that she is playing pool- I have such fond memories of playing on holiday with my Dad when I was younger! x

  9. hijackedbytwins says:

    I say this every Sunday evening, the weekends just fly by.A game of pool sounds fun. Thank you for sharing with #TWTWC x

  10. ourlittleescapades says:

    I’m with you on the knackered feeling, it sums up my summer! I hope you have caught up on a bit of sleep, somehow! I love that you had a great weekend and that Wee Girl loves it so much. With flapping and everything! I really hope this is something you can play together in the future x

    • I actually love to see her flapping because it’s usually a sign that she’s excited and happy about something. Sleep has been hit and miss, still, but the horrendous nights have been interspersed with much better ones. I’d love to play pool with Wee Girl in the future because it would be wonderful for her hand eye coordination. She’s a bit too short at the moment though.

  11. AutismMumma says:

    Lovely pictures and fab for her hand eye co-ordination. Why is it that weekends and school holidays whizz by but the school weeks drag? Who knows!
    Great to see that pool looks like being an activity you’ll all be able to enjoy in the future and thanks for linking up with #SSAmazingAchievements 🙂

    • Thank you. I can hazard a guess about the weekends going quickly; we’re having too much fun. The weeks definitely go faster if I make more of an effort to get everyone up and out of the house, but this can be so knackering sometimes. Pool will definitely be in our future. She just needs to grow another foot and then we’re there.

Leave a Reply

