The August Degustabox: A Review

We’ve been (fully paid up) members of Degustabox for a while and it’s fair to say we love it. I’m a sucker for a subscription box anyway, no matter what it’s for; there’s an enormous appeal to receiving a fun surprise through the post, and Degustabox is a fantastic example. At £12.99 it works out as great value for a varied selection of goodies.

Unfortunately recently they had some issues with the boxes for July. Some were sent out with insufficient packaging, meaning that many people received damaged boxes or didn’t receive their boxes at all. While they must have had a backlog of emails to deal with, the lack of communication was quite frustrating, and wasn’t helped by their publishing posts about products in the box before people even knew whether or not they would be receiving it. Luckily this isn’t a regular occurrance, but hopefully they will have learned from this experience and will make sure that communication with their customers is far better in the future. If it happens again and the situation is the same, I would have to seriously reconsider my subscription and would struggle to recommend their service.

As it is, I DO recommend them This August box was fantastic, and there were even a few extra goodies packed in there from the July box, something which went a long way to repairing the damage to goodwill caused by all of this.


Degustabox August 2015 Review @allpastmidnight
Selection of Dr Oetker Mug Cakes
£1.37
I love this idea, and best of all all you need is milk and a mug to cook them in. Er, and a microwave. I received three sachets, Rich Chocolate, Lemon and Chocolate Chip, and I’m looking forward to trying them with Wee Girl. Really pleased to have received them in the box as I would never have tried them otherwise.

Degustabox August 2015 Review @allpastmidnight
Life Tonics Hydration Plus: Dalandan Orange
£1.49
This was a very pleasant, if slightly odd tasting, drink, made with coconut water and natural fruit extracts. Other flavours included Coconut & Mint, and Elderberry & Juniper. I wish I’d received the Elderberry one: it sounds very unusual and I would have liked the chance to try it.

Degustabox August 2015 Review @allpastmidnight
Ryvita Crispbreads: Cracked Black Pepper and Sesame Crispbread
£2.88
That’s the funny thing about Degustabox: just when I’m thinking I need to pick up some crispbreads, I find them in the box. It’s always handy having a pack of Ryvita in the cupboard, and now I’ve got two.

Degustabox August 2015 Review @allpastmidnight
Bahlsen Choco Leibniz White and PICK UP! Dark Chocolate
£3.48
Quite a biscuit heavy box this one, not that I’m complaining. Choco Leibniz are fab anyway, and I love white chocolate so much so was really happy to have the chance to try these. They were okay; the white chocolate didn’t have that vanilla-flavour that appeals to me, and I think I prefer the darker versions (or the caramel version, which is gorgeous).

Degustabox August 2015 Review @allpastmidnight
Barilla Penne Rigate and Arrabiata Sauce
£1.50 and £2.00
We can always do with more pasta, and a sauce to go with it for an easy mid-week dinner. Very happy to give this a try.

Degustabox August 2015 Review @allpastmidnight
Walkers: Selection of Shortbread Biscuits
£2.00
The World’s Finest Shortbread, apparently. Always happy to try more biscuits

Degustabox August 2015 Review @allpastmidnight
The Primal Pantry: Raw Paleo Bars
£1.49 x 2
The Primal Pantry’s mission is to make paleo food accessible to everyone. Their bars are raw, cold-pressed and free of both dairy and gluten. I’ve tried the hazelnut and cocoa bar so far, and found it tasty. This is part of DB’s Discoveries, a new scheme designed for smaller and lesser known brands, and the brands will differ from box to box. One of the alternatives was Delicious Alchemy’s Oaty Cookie Mix or Brownie Mix, and while they sound delicious, I’m glad I didn’t get them as I think there’s plenty of cake and biscuits in this box as it is.

Degustabox August 2015 Review @allpastmidnight
Scheckters OrganicEnergy
£1.45
I don’t drink a lot of energy drinks, and would never normally buy them, which is why receiving this in the box is a bit of a treat. This is sparkling spring water flavoured with organic pomegranate, elderberry and lemon juice, with a blend of raw green coffee beans, green tea, guarana and ginseng. Very drinkable and worth trying if you do buy energy drinks.

And finally a couple of products presumably left over from last month’s box, tucked in as an extra treat.

Degustabox August 2015 Review @allpastmidnight
Fru Snax: Peach Slices with Vanilla Yoghurt Melts
Sounds like a nice idea

Degustabox August 2015 Review @allpastmidnight
Original Sweet Chilli Sauce
Always handy to have a stash of sweet chilli sauce in the cupboard or fridge, either for dipping or for making up a stir fry sauce. I don’t think I’ve tried this brand before, so pleased this was included.


Did you get this month’s Degustabox? Interested in trying it? Do you love subscription boxes too? Please share what you think in the comments.

Tried and Tested
About allpastmidnight

Hi, I'm Alison, I am a mid-thirties mum to two children, Little Man and Wee Girl. Wee Girl is pre-verbal and has autism, while Little Man is the sort of happy chatty little guy who gets into everything and sings at the top of his lungs — until the moment he makes eye contact with a stranger and he goes silent. I am cynical, sweary, and a bit disorganised, and I blog about parenting, ASD, food and just about anything else I can think of. Feel free to follow me on any of my social media. I can also be contacted by email at allpastmidnight [at] outlook [dot] com.
This entry was posted in Reviews and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to The August Degustabox: A Review

  1. Heart says:

    I’ve never tried to order subscription boxes because I don’t want to be chained to a certain contract or agreement. But, seeing all these items for only $12.99, I guess, it isn’t so bad after all.

    • You are usually still able to cancel midway through the subscription, although some might lock you in in return for a cheaper box. But there’s usually an option to order a single box if you just want to try it out. I love subscription boxes, but they can be an excellent way of spunking a lot of money, particularly if you never use the items you get. That rush of getting something through the post can be addictive.

  2. The degustabox looks really good value Alison. I wasn’t really sure what to expect from them, pity I’m not in the UK all of the year. Thanks for sharing 🙂

  3. thesoupdragonsays says:

    I have never thought of trying these box schemes but this one looks interesting the peach slices look yummy, and I can imagine its a fun way to find new foods! #TriedTested

  4. Kim Carberry says:

    I have heard good things about this subscription box….
    Those Mug Cake mixes look and sound fab! I didn’t know they existed!

  5. Jenna says:

    Oh wow, I want to try those mug cakes.

    I used to have a Degusta box subscription but as money is tight at the moment, I had to cancel it. However, I would love to sign back up again in the future as I always loved the surprise each month. They are pretty good value too.

    #TriedTested

    • They look great,don’t they? I know what you mean about money being tight; I tend to take the view that we don’t need to buy as many treats, but just rely on what comes in the box, and in theory we save money that way. If only someone would tell my husband.

  6. mummydaddymia says:

    I have been looking at this for ages as I too love a good subscription box and we get a few different ones but yet to try this one. I really enjoy getting treats in the post each month, its like my little present just for me! Thanks for the post! 🙂

    #TriedTested

Leave a Reply

