Catch-up: The Night Before the First Day at School

It’s here at last: tomorrow is Wee Girl’s first day at school. Well, I say ‘day’, but in fact I’m only taking her in for an hour, and I will be staying there with her, but even so it’s a massive step and I’m a little bit gobsmacked.

Things have been quiet around here; Saturday saw us heading into central London to buy Wee Girl some shoes and amble around the shops. We were hoping to buy her mini-Doc Martens, but in the end the 9’s were too big, and the 8’s were too small, so we went for Geox instead. Hopefully tomorrow I’ll have some photos of for you of Wee Girl in (almost) all her regalia.

Meanwhile, I’ve restarted my healthkick. I was following Weight Watchers a while back. Sort of anyway. What I actually do is a bit like the bastard child of Weight Watchers and 5:2. Two days a week I try to keep my intake under 20 ProPoints. It gives me a bit of leeway and cheating space. I think if it was a choice between actually tracking every mouthful I eat and popping my eyeballs with a rusty kebab skewer, it… well, it would be a tough call. I’d probably just eat the cake (Wait, what do you mean that wasn’t one of the options?).

So:

All Past Midnight diet health-kick catch-up @allpastmidnightI now have a Fitbit. If you have one too let me know whatever it is I have to know and I’ll add you as a friend. I have no friends. 😦

And I’m back to tracking and planning what I eat. I’ve been meaning to do this for a while. The funny thing is when I’m doing this, I feel like we eat better and I’m enjoying my food more. So why on earth haven’t I been doing it for the past x months? Well, because it takes effort and I am inherently lazy. But I feel like something has kickstarted and I’m ready to get back to it. I’ve maintained for all of that time without really trying, which is something I’m very happy about.

Finally, I’m toying with the idea of creating a new blog about books. I read a lot of genre fiction (horror, fantasy, crime), which doesn’t seem to fit with the scope of this blog and would let me play around with stuff a bit more without having to worry about pictures. Because god knows I don’t have enough to do at the moment, right?

About allpastmidnight

Hi, I'm Alison, I am a mid-thirties mum to two children, Little Man and Wee Girl. Wee Girl is pre-verbal and has autism, while Little Man is the sort of happy chatty little guy who gets into everything and sings at the top of his lungs — until the moment he makes eye contact with a stranger and he goes silent. I am cynical, sweary, and a bit disorganised, and I blog about parenting, ASD, food and just about anything else I can think of. Feel free to follow me on any of my social media. I can also be contacted by email at allpastmidnight [at] outlook [dot] com.
This entry was posted in Family and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

