First Day at School

First day at school @allpastmidnight

The state of that polo shirt — I hope our washing machine is going to be up to the job

Well, it’s been an up and down kind of day. We all had what was possibly the worst night’s sleep EVER. Wee Girl must have been listening when I said she would be going to school today, because she woke up at 3:50 am and would. Not. Go. Back. To. Sleep. She kept coming into our room, giggling, wanted to go downstairs, wanted breakfast, and every time we put her back in her room we heard the familiar thump thud of her jumping out of bed, her door opening and her turning on the light in the hall. And then Little Man woke up.

So it’s fair to say I was not at my best at 7.00 this morning when I had to get out of bed. Well, actually I think I fell back to sleep and only managed to get up at 7:20, which meant a bit of running around, not getting to drink my coffee (nooooo!) and turfing madam out of her lovely slumber (why weren’t you doing that at 4 in the morning, eh?) so that we could get her fed and dressed in her lovely clean uniform (not so clean now, sadly).

It wasn’t the best start to the morning. But she has made up for it by being utterly delightful today. It’s impossible to stay annoyed with Wee Girl when she’s in her bright happy mood, but I’m really hoping I get a full night’s sleep tonight.

While we were looking at schools for Wee Girl it quickly became clear to me that mainstream alone would not be an option. While most of the schools I visited were extremely welcoming and spoke about the help they would be able to put in place, reading between the lines I could see that they felt a unit or a special school would probably be more appropriate. The lack of speech is an issue and that wasn’t something that they’d really had any experience off. At her new school, Wee Girl will have access to an OT, a speech therapist. She will have teachers and TAs who have experience of non and pre-verbal children, but as well as that she will have the opportunity to go to mainstream classes if appropriate, so she will be able to learn alongside her neurotypical peers.

It went very well today. We were only there for an hour, but they packed a lot in, moving from circle time to snack time, then play time and finally back to circle time again. Wee Girl was happy, engaged and interested, played for a little while with the sand, then chased some bubbles.

We’re going back on Friday for another hour, but I think I’ll make less of a big deal about it the night before, just in case.

“Our

Brilliant blog posts on HonestMum.com

About allpastmidnight

Hi, I'm Alison, I am a mid-thirties mum to two children, Little Man and Wee Girl. Wee Girl is pre-verbal and has autism, while Little Man is the sort of happy chatty little guy who gets into everything and sings at the top of his lungs — until the moment he makes eye contact with a stranger and he goes silent. I am cynical, sweary, and a bit disorganised, and I blog about parenting, ASD, food and just about anything else I can think of. Feel free to follow me on any of my social media. I can also be contacted by email at allpastmidnight [at] outlook [dot] com.
This entry was posted in Education, Family and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to First Day at School

  1. Sounds like it went ok! My daughter just started last week and thanks God she seems to be getting more into it!

    • It went great, and I think she’s going to love going to school. She’s always happiest when she’s got something to keep her busy, and that’s one thing school and nursery will excel at. She wants to learn. That’s good about your daughter; it’s such a big change, it will take a bit of getting used to. That’s why I’m glad the school are staggering the days a bit to give the children time to settle in, even if it is a bit slower. It’s worth it.

  2. The Anxious Dragon says:

    It sounds like a fantastic school, offering everything she needs. Im glad for you that her first day went so well

    • It is brilliant, and will have so much to offer her. That feeling of knowing she’s in safe hands, with people who understand and are dedicated to bringing her on, is priceless. They have experience of children starting with no speech at all and throughout the year they’ve gradually started talking. Really hopeful and looking forward to Friday now.

  3. So glad that Wee Girl’s first day went well and hope that you get more sleep the night before she goes back in again!

    • I had a pretty decent sleep last night, as it happens, so I’m feeling much more confident and rested, thank you. Even despite the lack of sleep though,yesterday was a great day, as Wee Girl as in a delightful happy mood, and it’s virtually impossible to be grumpy when she’s like that. I’m going to keep schtum about school tomorrow though, just in case.

  4. ourlittleescapades says:

    Don’t you just love the sleep! Just so you know we also hear those tiny feet running across the floor at all times of the night ;0). I’m so glad you are happy with your school choice. I love that you can also mix into mainstream when they feel it will work. We opted for SEN, I just couldn’t send my non-verbal/pre-verbal liittle boy in to the mainstream world. I’m so glad it went well for you, perhaps mention school in the morning lol

    Thanks for linking up with Small Steps Amazing Achievements :0)
    x

    • Well, she’s not in mainstream yet. All the other kids in her class have ASD too, and there’s a mixture of ability when it comes to speech, but they’re all lovely kids. It’s such a difficult decision to make. For ages, I really wanted mainstream for her and one school in particular was very welcoming, but like you I just knew it wasn’t an option in the long run.

      I must admit the thought of secondary school makes me nervous, but that’s a long way away yet, thank goodness.

  5. Pingback: Small Steps Amazing Achievements – 16/9/15 » AutismMumma

Leave a Reply

